COM0015 – Blog #4 – Out of The Box

Photo by Dominika Roseclay from Pexels

Throughout this set of courses, and my journey through online marketing, I have come across a few applications that have surprised me. They manage to change the way we can start marketing our business through social media platforms – completely different to what we have learned in these courses.

#1 Tik Tok

TikTok is the newest video sharing platform that allows users to share short video content. (usually less than 60 seconds) It first started gaining popularity with the younger generation in 2019, but when Covid-19 sent countries into Lockdown this March, TikTok received a surge of new users, of all ages. With these new users, business both big and small discovered that this new network would reach more people and offer a greater audience of potential customers.

I personally found that the algorithm that TikTok has configured, is perfect for connecting businesses to customers. I’ve watched many small businesses gain fame and success from one single successful video that has gone viral on TikTok and they are able to maintain that success through continued strategic content. I found that most businesses that have gained success are those that share a personal side (or behind the scenes look) into their business.

#2 Tailwind / Later

While learning about the strategic uses of social media that is needed to be successful in marketing, I found that it could be overwhelming to remember when to post, what to post, what needs to be said, etc. Luckily I discovered two applications that help tremendously. Tailwind and Later are both apps that help you easily line up content to be automatically posted to social media. They allow you to preview your content (to keep the flow and look similar) as well as set up times, customize hashtag use, and do everything all at once. I think it keeps everything simple and makes social media marketing much easier!

Photo by PhotoMIX Company from Pexels

I think it is most important to be able to adapt to the changing uses of social media as well as staying on top of applications that can truly benefit your business.

What online marketing tools have you discovered?

One thought on “COM0015 – Blog #4 – Out of The Box

  1. I am not familiar with Tailwind and Later but I will definitely check them out.
    I have investigated Tik Tok but I decided that it wouldn’t be the most appropriate platform for my organization’s social media.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.