COM0014 – Blog #6: Your Story is Important, as Much as You Are

When people look at businesses, or even nowadays influencers they want to know how they got to where they are. Or why they are doing what they are doing. The story behind you and your business is an important story. And no it is not your birth, and how you became this person. That does play a role, but not the main story.

woman reading harry potter book

Photo by Dids on Pexels.com

For me I could say me getting bullied for making YouTube videos is a part of my story, and yes it is but the factor I should say is that ‘ I love doing other people’s hair because I know how it feels to be low, to be belittled so to make someones day better with great hair at the end of the day makes my day’.

When you take factors like that, it makes it personal. That’s what people want. They want to know who you are.

“What is your greatest achievement/disappointment?”

Greatest disappointment for me would be me leaving the industry for 9 months. And even more since I was considering leaving the hair industry all together by that point. I forgot what it was like doing hair, and I was going to let it stop me all together. But it didn’t. I rose above it, got the job that was my final try.

Greatest achievement? That is a harder one to answer, for me at least. To have an achievement is to say you’re good at something. While I do think I have talent in hair my achievement is more so my computer and people skills. I can talk to anyone about anything. I am also amazing at fixing computers, internally and externally. To communicate with people brings me joy, to make someone smile makes me incredibly happy. It makes me feel good, and I do think that’s an achievement because we all have our bad times, so getting someone to smile and be happy for a moment is an achievement at that moment.

What about you, do you have any achievements/disappointments? Let me know in the comments below. I want to hear your story as well!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.