How Are You Listening?

Courtesy of Microsoft Word Stock Images

I have used Feedly and Feedspot to receive information posted on the web, then Brand24 and Mentionlytics for my listening tools. I would not say these are my favorite listening tools, but they certainly are the listening and monitoring tools that I am comfortable with right now.  I have not tried many other tools yet. However, I do plan on researching my options for long term usability.

What I like about Feedly and Feedspot is the interface and the manageability. It is easy to set up and receive posts without becoming overwhelmed with information coming in daily. Brand24 is an excellent user – friendly listening and monitoring tool.  The layout of the dashboard is simple to follow, and I can easily locate the information I am seeking. I ran into a little problem using Brand24 and sent an email regarding the issue.  The assistance I received was quick and impressive. Using customer service as part of the decision factor Brand24 is a likely choice for me to move forward.

One of the goals I have is to optimize my SEO. My preference is the simplicity of Google alerts, and Google Trends.  Finding my keywords in google trends was especially useful in assignments and it gave me new insight of a brand I misunderstood.  I received once daily, a comprehensive email with posts.  I do not read through them all, but I receive valuable information on the brand. I understand the power of using keywords on WEB 2.0 and how it will benefit my SEO moving forward. I do have to play around with my keywords otherwise, incoming posts on Google Alerts, Feedly and Feedspot does not align with my objectives.

Courtesy of Microsoft Word Stock Images

I do like Twitter lists. It is easy and tweets are manageable.   Since this course, I have a better understanding of Twitter and will be using Twitter lists to find my audience.  I am organizing my Facebook into groups to start listening and will do the same for LinkedIn and Instagram.

I receive daily emails from other monitoring tools such as Metigy, Conviva, Awario, Oribi, Netvibes, Hubspot and Mentionlytics.  I know that sounds like plenty but with one email a day I can learn more. Once I feel I am in a place where I am more knowledgeable on monitoring and listening tools, and news feeds, I will select my preferences according to, user – friendly and manageability.

What is your favorite monitoring and listening tool?

For more on listening follow me at https://bit.ly/2Fpyfj4.

For more insight follow me on Twitter @OdettEBr2017.

4 thoughts on “How Are You Listening?

  1. Odette,
    Good post. You have organized a comprehensive set of tools. I’ve learned a lot of new names from your posting, and I’ll give them a try. I agree with your assessment of the simplicity of Google Alerts. It provides some very useful information, and is definitely a priority monitoring tool.

    Rob J

  2. That’s an impressive list of tools that you’re using! I’m in the same boat though, I’m not 100% comfortable with different tools and it can be difficult when most of them have to be paid for in order to get as much information as possible. I do think Google Alerts and Google Trends is a great starting tool, they have helped me gain insight into the monitoring/listening world.

    I’ve enjoyed using Social Searcher for a few assignments. I’m a visual learner so I like seeing the statistics given.

    https://www.social-searcher.com

    • Hi Jessica,

      It was overwhelming in the beginning but Brand 24 is the best for me so far. Like you said Google alert and google trends are a great place to start. Brand24’s dashboard is user friendly and I can find the statistics that I need.

      I recently learned about social searcher, which I am definitely going to look into.

      Good luck and stay safe.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.