COM0014 Blog #2- Storytelling and Communication Styles

As an English Literature major, I personally love the concept of storytelling. You can fully engage somebody in an instant with a good story. I also love that storytelling doesn’t have to always be fictional, you can ‘storytell’ about yourself. Think of being in an interview, you are basically telling a great story about who you are and why you’re amazing. You are engaging your could-be boss. Also, storytelling does not have to be verbal or written anymore. What is your Instagram feed? That tells a story about who you are, by just looking at pictures. 2020 Storytelling is very different than 1950’s storytelling, it is continuously evolving.

Speaking about the ‘inverted triangle approach’ that we learnt about this week, I fully agree in order to get someone engaged you need to hook them with important information first. Then, once they like what you are saying, ease into next steps, extra tidbits and ‘have a good day’. I like to relate this concept to being a salesperson with your pitch. You only have limited time to get the customer to buy what you’re selling, so you need to get the most important information in within about 90 seconds. #GetThatMoney

2 thoughts on “COM0014 Blog #2- Storytelling and Communication Styles

  1. Hi Sarah,

    While reading your blog, I learned something new. I never approached an interview as story telling, rather an intimidating process for opportunities. I like your approach. Next time, I will apply your approach. I enjoyed reading your blog.

  2. Hi Sarah,
    Reading your perspective was really interesting, especially given your educational background! I like your comparison of storytelling and sales, as someone who sells products and services for a living, I totally agree!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.