COM0015 – Blog #3 – Professional Networking

It’s difficult to plan for the future on a regular day. In a pandemic? It feels nearly impossible.

I feel like we’re all living our own version of Groundhog Day right now. Going through the motions and waiting for some kind of formal announcement that we can start living normally again. We don’t have a crystal ball – at this point, we don’t even have a mirror to see our own reflections.

The best we can do, though, is plan for the most optimistic outcome. I’d like to start boosting my online presence over these coming months by following and reaching out to feminist organizations that promote positive messaging supporting women. If I can gather their attention online, eventually I’ll feel comfortable meeting with them in person. My goal down the road is to become a spokesperson or PR representative for an organization that helps women.

I frequent a yoga studio downtown called Pure Yoga, which is run by some pretty fantastic women. I’ve already forged in-person relationships with some of the women there, but I hope to continue sharing their online content, perhaps volunteering with them and eventually, they’ll follow and share my content.

I’d also like to start following organizations such as Women’s shelters on social media, and eventually when the pandemic lifts, I plan to volunteer with them.

Ultimately I’d like to become a voice for women; a safe haven of support. We can’t do much in person right now, so the next six months to a year will consist of research, writing and reading. We have to bone up on our knowledge, so we emerge back in the world steadfast and educated, ready to take on anything.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.