COM0015 – Blog Post #4 – Out of the Box

Where to start? I’ve learned so much over the past year with this program that it’s hard to pinpoint just a few things that I’ve learned. I thought I knew a lot about social media but was I wrong. It’s all been a bit unexpected. There is so much happening in social media and I’m sure there will be a lot more to come as technology develops.

When I started this program earlier this year like many of you, I had been tasked with developing my facility’s social media plan. Needless to say, my original plan has been reworked a few times with the new knowledge that I have developed throughout this course. Like how much value do you put on social influencers? How important is the listening in social media? As well as the numerous tools that are available for monitoring feeds. And I finally understand and got the hang of RSS feeds.

 

One of the most recent apps that I’ve tried (thanks to Sharon Sinfield) is the use of

Grammarly. I’ve been using it regularly now and am so thankful that she mentioned it. I find that it has helped me write without worrying about what’s grammatically correct off the top. And even if I don’t agree with their suggestions, I have the power to change it. It’s a cool app.

 

 

One of the other things that happened is that I forgot how much I loved writing. I come from a journalism background (many moons ago) and used to love writing; but moved away from for various reasons. Now as part of this program’s progress, I have found that love again with the blogs. I am planning to create my own blog now; just have to figure out which platform will work best for me and my subject matter. One of my friends suggested that I write about “The Ramblings of Mrs. Claus”. My husband and I played Santa and Mrs. Claus for our wedding photographer last year and are doing it again in December. I can’t wait.

SANTA 2017

hoto credit: The Wright House Photography Studio, Dec. 2017 Newmarket ON

 

 

Moving forward though, I will take this new knowledge and use it in both my personal and professional lives. What knowledge will you take with you in your future endeavours? It’s going to be an exciting ride for all of us.

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.