A Playground Right In Your Backyard

COM0011 – Blog #4

As an avid hiker, I’m always looking for new places to explore near me. In Ottawa, I believe that there’s a misconception of the city; many claim that the area is “boring”, and that there isn’t much to do around here. News flash: that’s not true. I’ve recently discovered a new application, AllTrails, and it totally changed my perception of this government town.

Image by Rido Alwarno via Pexels.

So, What’s It All About?

AllTrails is a free network that allows people to discover new trails, beach spots, on/off road driving, and so much more. It was officially launched to the public in 2010, and has since then grown immensely in popularity. On this platform, people can create a profile, follow others from the same city as their own, post their reviews and pictures of their experiences on the trails they’ve completed, and even comment on each other’s postings. It’s kind of like the Instagram and Facebook of ardent outdoorsy folks.

When searching for a desired type of activity to do on the application, AllTrails has made it extremely easy for people to do so, thanks to their detailed list of filters. You can choose the difficulty of a trail you’d like to take on, its length, attractions found on the trail, the suitability of it, and even its elevation gain. You can find the full list of filters here.

Image by Dkenned5 via Creative Commons.

My Personal Experience

I’ve been using the platform for about a week and a half now, and I don’t think that I’ll be shying away from it any time soon. It’s user friendly, can be used on a computer or a mobile device, and really gives you an in-depth description of each trail. Having a dog can make it difficult to find paths that we can both enjoy, as I’ve noticed that many treks won’t allow your canine to tag along with you. In that span of time, I’ve already visited 4 new hiking grounds, and none of them have let me down so far. It’s incredible to think that this whole time I thought that Ottawa was so limited in terms of nature and paths. AllTrails has clearly proven me wrong, and has allowed me to get a taste of how great and beautiful my city really is.

Have you ever heard of AllTrails before? If so, which track have you been on, and how was your experience using the application and/or website?

References

  1. (No Attributed Author). AllTrails. https://www.alltrails.com/
  2. (No Attributed Author). Wikipedia. https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/AllTrails

19 thoughts on “A Playground Right In Your Backyard

  1. That app sounds awesome! I am not a hiker, but I do love all of the little things that Ottawa has to offer! You just need to know where to look. Great Post Elizabeth (also followed you on Twitter haha)

    • Yes, agreed! Thanks Marcus, I thought I recognized you on Twitter but wasn’t sure. I’ll give you one back!

  2. I loved this post Elisabeth! I am an avid hiker who always brings my pup as a companion. I checked it out for my area and while I did not find anything new I think this is a great resource if you are travelling and like to take hikes but not be familiar with the area. In the fall I am planning a trip out west and using this app will be perfect.

    • Hi Courtney,

      I wish I would’ve known about that app when I went out West two years ago – you’re going to find the nicest spots to explore!

      You do have to travel a bit (I think my longest trip on the road was about 30minutes), but it’s well worth it!

  3. Annnddd… I’ve downloaded that App and mentioned it to my friend who loves to hike, thank you! This app looks great! Great post!

    • Hi Sash!

      I’m glad you enjoyed the read, and let me know if you end up going on some neat trails! Enjoy! šŸ™‚

  4. I am so glad you shared this! I am really excited to try AllTrails. Is it limited to just the Ottawa area or are there other areas available?

    • Hi Emma,

      I’m not sure about other countries, but I do know that it is Canada-wide. You can either let the app determine your current location, or you can manually type in the area you’re in!

  5. Definitely, a great informative post with a well written descriptive review. This is just the app I needed. Nice photo choice. Looks like a beautiful area to hike.

  6. First off, just from your title brings me back to my childhood and going to explore the trails, mountains and even just playing games in the yard with my friends. Yet, from your opening paragraph I get to learn about a sweet new app to let me explore whatā€™s around me even more. Iā€™m really excited to try it and like that they have information on whether or not they think the trail is ok for pets.

    • Nikita,
      I’m glad my title was able to bring you back in time, and I’m happy to know that it will facilitate your search for dog-friendly trails. Enjoy!

  7. Sounds cool.
    My mom and I both like going on nature walks but we mainly go to the Mer Bleue bog board walk. But I’ve been hoping to find someplace new to explore. I’ll check this app out with my mom.
    Thank you for sharing it.

    • The Mer Bleue bog board walk is a beautiful spot, but I know how fun it is to discover new spots around town. I hope yourself and your mom get to uncover new trails for both of you to enjoy!

  8. This is great, Elisabeth! I have lived in the Rockies and loved to hike and I spent a lot of time creating trips and maps for my family. The first thing I did, after reading your blog, was the check the web site. I have many friends that would benefit from this app and I will be sharing this information with them.
    During this time of still doing social distancing, this is a great way to get exercise and still maintain a good distance from others. Sometimes, nature is just the best medicine!

  9. Interesting! I have a few friends who use this app but haven’t done so myself. I thought most of the good trails were on the Quebec side. Have you found some good ones here?

    • I did! My favourite one to date is the Sheila McKee Park trail. It’s out in Kanata! Dogs are allowed, trail is gorgeous, and there’s even a beach spot to swim and have a picnic at (that’s what I did last time I went)!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.