“Hit the ‘Subscribe’ button…thanks!” – Big Brother

Is it just me or is every single “Youtuber” on the planet asking me to subscribe to their channel?  I understand why they are doing it but my goodness…please, put down the iPhone camera and exhale!  In their relentless pursuit for wealth accumulation, some individuals are convinced that starting a Youtube channel will take them to the promised land.  And in many cases, it has.  My problem is, once I click on that ‘Subscribe’ button, I am greeted with every Youtube video ever made by that channel, all the related Youtube videos I might like associated with that channel and all the spam email that goes with it.

It feels like an electronic information junkyard.  How do we defeat the marketing overload phenomena? Social media certainly has its place in our lives, our businesses and can be effective as we all know.  So is there anything we can do to remain active in social media all the while avoid being overloaded or overloading our audience with marketing madness?  In my search, I stumbled on an article in The Guardian titled “Content overload on the web is a turn-off: here’s how to manage it.”.  The article speaks to the challenges faced by publishers who are trying to stay alive let alone relevant.

One of the interesting points made in the article is the fact that a publisher obviously needs to advertise so they will engage in banner ads and content marketing for which they receive revenue.  However, it is those very advertising tactics that may drive the intended audience away negating the whole objective of the activity.  What would you do if you were a publisher faced with this problem?

Social Media Marketing Balance (click for larger version)

 

facebook  Walk the fine line media marketing rope here http://wp.me/p3QRy0-gI4

Twitter  Walk the fine line media marketing rope here #nosafetynet http://wp.me/p3QRy0-gI4

Reference:

https://www.theguardian.com/media-network/2015/may/18/content-overload-turn-off-audiences-brands-publishers

One thought on ““Hit the ‘Subscribe’ button…thanks!” – Big Brother

  1. I feel like it can be too much. Like when I am reading articles for the love oh god why is there SO many ads – it takes me twice as long to read it because of this. Most of the time I just say screw it and dont even read it because there is just too much going on.

    We see this every where though, especially in sports. All over the ice, on the boards, jersey, commercial breaks, announcements it can be overwhelming for sure. The sad thing is, its not getting any better.

Leave a Reply

