Instagram: Can your daily creep make you healthier?

Do you ever have those days when you’re in need of some fitness inspiration so you turn to your Instagram account in hopes of finding some new-found motivation? Something to help you put down the pizza and pick up the kale. If you’re like me, you do this on a regular basis. It starts with Instagram and then I turn to YouTube, often spending hours watching short videos to help get myself off the couch. But as I sit on the couch watching my seventh consecutive video, I start to question these so-called “health gurus”… who are they to tell me how to work out, how to eat, how to live my life!?

But in all seriousness, how are we to take advice from social media on health and fitness when these people are often just “normal” people like you and I. Yes, some have an education in health and nutrition or are certified personal trainers – but in my experience, most do not. This is why I decided to dig a little deeper into this new trend of so-called health and fitness gurus.

After doing some research (*cough, cough… creeping) I’ve narrowed down some good and bad on the effects of this social media trend. Let’s start by jumping into the goods!

The Good

“Oh I can’t, I don’t have a gym membership”

By having videos and resources online that everyone is able to utilize, it makes the health and fitness world more accessible. Meaning, everyone has the opportunity to utilize the tools available – whether that be fitness videos, meal planning guides, tips and tricks on changing your eating habits, etc.

“But I’m curvy AND petite”

With so many people online starting their own health and fitness profiles (and channels), you’re bound to find someone you can relate to. And when I say relate, that could be in reference to their lifestyle choices (busy on-the-go or you work from home), their body type (tall, petite, and curvy) or even their fitness regime (active, sedentary and in-between). All it takes is a little research and you’re sure to find someone that speaks to your inner fitness goddess!

“Being healthy is good, right?”

Finally, what could be bad about promoting good health – it helps to strengthen your mental, physical and emotional well-being. If you’re able to start making healthy changes in your life, then you’re definitely making a step in the right direction… you go girl, you go!

The Bad

Now as I mentioned, we can’t explore the pros without the cons. I know what you’re thinking, how can there be cons when people are working towards new health and fitness goals?! Keep reading to find out some of the negative effects of this new health and fitness trend.

“Doctor, doctor give me the news”

When consulting on new diets and trends, you’re always instructed to “consult with your doctor” before trying a new diet – but online this is not the case. The danger of that, is that anyone can give advice on health and fitness without any education or qualifications. That’s not to say that all health and fitness profiles don’t have any education or certification on the topic, it just means you need to weary of the information that’s being shared. Just remember, “don’t trust everything you read on thee Tweet’er and thee Facebook!”.

“Why can’t I look like her?”

Now, I know I said that everyone can relate to one health and fitness guru or another but that doesn’t mean we always pick someone with the most realistic body shape. Social media is constantly changing and adding with new features. One of those features being filters and editing options – meaning that people can alter their photos. So how are we to compete with filters, Photoshop and the insecurities of not looking like the people online… you just gotta keep yourself in check! Easier said than done (I know!), but we all need to remember that social media is not always (…rarely) displays a realistic portrayal of peoples lives. Don’t lose motivation, just unfollow and move on!

And the take-out (I mean… takeaway!)

Finally, in my opinion I’m a fan of this new health and fitness trend. One of my current favorite profiles to follow is Sarah’s Day who’s an Australian fitness and health guru. Like many other fitness guru’s, she’s come out with a fitness e-book (Sweat it to shred it) that’s available online. I’ll be honest, I have not purchased the e-book and likely will not, but I feel she does provide mw with motivation and new insight into different ways of changing up my normal fitness and health routine.

Now, to wrap up – with all things on social media (and internet as a whole), we must learn to take it with a grain of salt… and remember, not too much or you’ll get puffy! 🙂

Salt bae - a man sprinkling salt in the air

Let me know in the comments below if you follow any health and fitness gurus? What’s your opinion on the topic? Are they good? Bad? I wanna hear from you!

Social media posts—

Twitter:

Can your daily Insta creep make you healthier? Or it is just a bunch of baloney – read more here #fitspo #FitnessMotivation #NowImHungry

Facebook:

Can your daily Insta creep make you healthier? Or it is just a bunch of bologna, I mean baloney… oh no, now I’m hungry! Get the full story here. *

*Note: I would insert the following GIF

7 thoughts on “Instagram: Can your daily creep make you healthier?

  1. I am a fellow Instagram creeper myself it is probably my favourite thing to do.. but I will admit that sometimes it discourages me because you see all these stick skinny girls and it makes me feel bad about myself. But more or less I do find lots of inspo from Instagram. I try to follow a lot of health and fitness accounts such as (no meat athlete) to get me motivated and give me healthy recipes!
    p.s I love your writing style; very personable and humorous something I try to be when I write online!

    • Aw thanks Taylor – I try my best to have my true (sometimes strange) tone of voice shine through in my writing 🙂

      And I hear you on the stick-thin skinny girls… I’ve unfollowed A LOT of people because I realized it was actually killing my motivation. Like you, I try to follow a variety of healthy food accounts as well, definitely helps to mix up the boring salads which often leave me feeling like a hungry rabbit.

      Thanks for the suggestion, I’ll definitely have to check out No meat athlete!

  2. True story. I totally hear yah! “47 steps to bigger biceps…” by Johnny Guns (<–fictional character) or "shred you abs in 8 minutes.." by Ab machine sales inc.

    I love my peanut M&Ms and Skor McFlurries so they can contend with that…or not.

    • Hahaha to think of all the time spent reading blogs on the newest fitness craze… only to return home (after work) and flop on the couch!

      I’m with you on the peanut M&Ms, but I’m definitely more of a oreo and caramel McFlurry fan #EverythingInModeration

  3. I actually use Pinterest more so than Instagram for stuff like that. But I have to admit I am totally like that! That is one thing I love about social media is sharing our stories – what worked for you and what didn’t. I see all the time on Instagram transformation Tuesday and wow some of those posts and stories are just so crazy! Makes me think if they can do why cant I! You are right though with the Photoshop and stuff. Sometimes its hard to tell the difference between real life and something that has been staged. I find this a lot with mom blogs. I see all the time these cute photos of mom and baby lying on a nice clean white bed and mom is drinking a coffee. In my experience with babies and toddlers, in real life that bed would not still be white! hahaha

    • I could not agree more about the mom blogs – so often they make it appear as if everything is perfect and the baby is calm… but in my years of experience (as a babysitter), I think I’ve only had a handful of moments like that and to be fair its usually because the baby is asleep haha.

      I’ll definitely have to take a look at Pinterest for some #fitspo as well!

  4. I only recently (as in three weeks ago) joined Instagram, so I can’t say I got much info or inspiration from there, but Youtube was a big help to me when I wanted to get in better shape. I had tried and failed numerous times to lose weight and keep it off, but while I was unemployed for about 16 months in the not too distant past I decided to use the down time to take my fitness more seriously.

    Although I didn’t frequent any one person’s blog or account, I found a lot of inspiration from those “regular” people giving advice on food and exercise tips on YouTube and occasionally Twitter (which helped me lose about 30 lbs. and keep it off). One practice I found helped me was taking a healthy degree of scepticism into all the info I consumed.

    As you said, anyone can be an expert online. So, what I typically did was compare info from multiple sources to get a sense of what the consensus was (if there was any at all). So far that practice has helped me big time.

Leave a Reply

