COMM0014 Blog #1 Facing My Fears

What are your fears? Do spiders, snakes or crowds make you panic? For as long as I can remember I have had a fear of heights. I realized this paralyzing phobia was stopping me from accomplishing many goals. I decided to face my fears during our vacation in Las Vegas.

Within the first hour of our arrival my husband, Dave, decided to book a helicopter flight for the following morning. The flight would leave Las Vegas fly over the Hover Dam, Lake Mead and land at the base of the Grand Canyon. Dave was thrilled. This was his dream. This was definitely not my dream, but more of a nightmare.

What did I get myself into!

Once we boarded the helicopter I realized there was no turning back. I was shaking as the helicopter lifted off the ground. Once we were in the air I soon realized there was nothing to fear. It was the perfect day to fly, no wind, a few clouds and so much to see. We had a bird’s eye view of Arizona’s magnificent Grand Canyon.

IMG_4275 (1).jpg

When the helicopter landed I couldn’t believe we had arrived safely at the bottom of one of the deepest gorges on earth. We were totally surrounded by the steep-sided canyon that had been carved by the Colorado River.

We didn’t want to leave, so we took our time as we loaded back into the helicopter for our return flight. I wasn’t nervous this time and knew we had to see the Grand Canyon again, and that’s just what we did.

On the last day of our vacation we rented a car and returned to the Grand Canyon. We had an incredible day connecting with nature and exploring the Canyon from the top.

IMG_4755.jpg

The highlight of the tour was one I will never forget. We stood on the edge of the Grand Canyon! We were absolutely amazed by the natural beauty surrounding us.

In the beginning I was trembling as I saw many people walking to the edge and looking down. As the crowds dispersed I slowly inched my way to a safe rock and sat by the edge. Looking down I realized how incredible it was to be there. I finally mustered up enough courage to take a few pictures of before I snuck away from the edge.

IMG_4752.jpg

At the end of the day Dave convinced me to join him on the Skywalk at Eagle Point. I grabbed his arm as we slowly walked around the horseshoe-shaped bridge that jutted out beyond the canyon walls. It felt amazing to be suspended 4,000 feet above the Colorado River below us. I know why the Grand Canyon is one of the Seven Wonders of the Natural World.

IMG_4682.jpg

I truly believe you must face your fears and live your life to its fullest. The adventures that we experienced will be etched in my memory forever. I can’t wait to plan our next trip and overcome my fear of swimming with sharks.

Leave a Reply

