COMM0014 – BLOG 1: “DRIVER’S START YOUR ENGINES!”

“DRIVER’S START YOUR ENGINES!”

As 40 cars all rev up at the same time a smile appears on my face, as well as thousands of other spectators at Michigan International Speedway (MIS). This sound is my cue to put in earplugs and hold any conversations for 400 miles of top speeds.

Image by author. 

Not familiar with NASCAR? Not a problem, here is a quick lowdown. The National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing has three primary levels, The Camping World Truck Series, the Xfinity Series, and the Monster Energy Cup Series. With the Cup Series being the main attraction every weekend, audiences watch the top drivers compete to earn their title. With 36 races in a season, ranging from February to November, these top name drivers impress their fans with speeds well over 320km/hour.

During my time at MIS in June, I had the opportunity to work directly with the track on multiple occasions. By volunteering with the Youth Fan Advisory Board, one of our core values is positively promoting the track to kids and young adults. What does this mean? For race weekend, this gives me and 11 others the opportunities to talk to young fans and help them find their interests in the sport. By assisting with garage tours or allowing them to meet drivers it is amazing to see their commitment to the sport at such a young age!

Image by author. 

Aside from working directly with fan, I had the privilege to connect with the social NASCAR audience by running the tracks Snapchat platform for the weekend. With a passion for social media and marketing, this experience gave me my largest audience ever. My weekend at the track also taught me to listen to my audience and provide them with interesting ‘behind-the-scenes’ aspects they want to see, not only what I find interesting. I learned that asking questions makes fans feel engaged and more excited about the content being posted.

 
Moving forward, I hope my time within this certificate program can continue to improve my skills with social media. This will make my time at MIS in August that much more enjoyable given the opportunity to run another social media account.

The green flag has just waved on my career in social media so watch out, for there is no checkered flag in sight anytime soon for this girl!

Leave a Reply

