COM0014 – Blog #5 – Filming Stories

P1020002I think off the very top, what sets me apart from many of my competitors is that I chose to study film and media production as opposed to learn it through on set training. This gives me the upper hand working in the federal government as a post-secondary education is a requirement to being hired.

As of late, I have been working on short film scripts in effort to eventually produce a new short film to add to my resume and demo reel. In addition to studying film and media production I also spent a year focusing on scriptwriting and storytelling, which had been what I wanted to do for a long time. Spending more time writing is allowing me to better hone my craft and develop my storytelling skills without the limitations set by government officials.

P1020626

What my colleagues have said about me to others I work with is that I know how to tell a story, which is the most important thing when doing the line of work I do. When I was told what this particular colleague said I was in shock because I am my own worst critic and tend to think everything I produce is terrible.

Leave a Reply

