Facebook safety check-ins

I just got back from a vacation in France and noticed a heavier military presence that what I am used to in Canada. Considering France had experienced some terrorism in the recent past, this had me wondering if such an attack would happen while I was there, and if I would have to use the Facebook safety check-in.

 

Facebook created the Facebook check-in for natural disasters, such as the earthquake in Nepal and the tsunami in Japan, in 2014 and then later decided to use it for terrorist attacks. Marc Zuckerberg’s announcement of the feature is below, and it includes an image of what the feature looks like.

Screen Shot 2017-06-18 at 4.55.26 PM

Screen Shot 2017-06-18 at 4.57.58 PM

During the London attacks there were a plethora of online images created displaying the words #prayforlondon.

Screen Shot 2017-06-18 at 4.49.25 PM

Source: The Guardian

 

In 2016 there were multiple simultaneous terrorist attacks in France with 128 killed. Facebook created the safety check in to mark themselves as safe. It was created in April that year for the Nepal earthquake. The Twitter hashtag #PorteOuverte, #prayforparis, #StrandedInUS, #RechercheParis, and #UneBougiePourParis. People started using the French flag filter on their profile pictures to show solidarity with France.

Screen Shot 2017-06-18 at 5.04.13 PM

I remember there being a controversy over the safety check-in that it only occurred with when European countries were attacked and not for other countries. Now if I steer the discussion back to my own travel, what would happen if I were traveling to a country rendered unimportant to Facebook? Does there simply need to be a terrorist attack or do people need to die? I remember when two Canadian military personnel were killed by acts for terror. Would Facebook create a safety check-in for that?

 

Regardless, if I were travelling I would find the safety check-in useful, but not anymore useful than posting words directly into the newsfeed. The people who matter such as my family are not people I keep on Facebook anyway. Additionally, I’d be more concerned with staying safe and following the events on the news than posting on social media.

 

Twitter Twitter promo:

What do you think about #Facebook’s #SafetyCheck? http://bit.ly/2sEC0Zg Let me know in the poll below!

a) It’s a great feature. I like to know that my friends are safe.

b) Lame. It’s a selective feature and rarely gets used.

c) I don’t know

d) Other

 

facebookFacebook promo:

Facebook created safety check-ins for the Nepal earthquake and Japan Tsunami. It later created them for terrorist attacks in Europe. Would you use the feature or not? Tell me what you think, below. http://bit.ly/2sEC0Zg

2 thoughts on “Facebook safety check-ins

  1. I think this is a great feature! I had some friends that lived in Fort McMurray during the fires last year and it was great to see that they were ok. It was useful for them to check to see if their friends were ok as well. Gives everyone a piece of mind 🙂

  2. I never knew that Facebook had this feature, but it seems like a good one. Whenever I hear about these natural disasters or acts of terrorism happening, I always hope that nobody I know is there. Safety Check seems like a great way to make sure people you know are safe in times of distress.

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

