Lovin’ Bloglovin’

Are you overwhelmed with all of the great blogs on the Internet?

Can’t keep up with Instagram, Twitter, podcasts, vlogs, blogs?

The World Wide Web provides a wealth of the latest information, how-to-sites, DIY.  For those of us from a slower era, or those of us who don’t have 18 hours a day to be on the Internet, it’s impossible to stay current, even when we want to.

(Wave graphic credit: Flickr, Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic (CC BY-NC 2.0) 

A little history of the WWW…

Way back when the Internet first started in the Dark Ages (1965), it was based initially on “ARPANET” (1969), used first by government and military types and then by researchers (1970s); the general public started using it for electronic mail and commercial uses in the 1990s, and the name “Internet” was adopted in 1995.  Some people called it “the internet highway” but they quickly realized it was more of a web (World Wide Web).220px-BH_LMC

And now it is more of a black hole.

It just keeps growing…

How fast is the Internet growing?

Simon Kemp (2017) gives us the stats from Thenextweb.com:

  • Internet users have grown by 82%, or almost 1.7 billion people, since January 2012: almost 1 million new users each day, or more than 10 new users every second;
  • More than 1.3 billion people started using social media – that’s a rise of 88% in just five years, and equates to more than 8 new users every second;
  • mobile social media user numbers have grown by more than 50% from 2015-2017

(Black hole source:  Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_hol)

No wonder it’s so hard for us to keep up.

Finally a solution to keeping, sorting and staying on top of your favourite blogs!
Bloglovin'_logo

Bloglovin’ offers a great solution for keeping us up-to-date and avoiding fear-of-missing-out (FOMO), two of the most common complaints of web surfers.

The Urban Dictionary has several definitions for FOMO: | fōmō |noun

a state of mental or emotional strain caused by the fear of missing out.

A form of social anxiety – a compulsive concern that one might miss an opportunity or satisfying event, often aroused by posts seen on social media websites.

Why do all that internet searching when someone else has already found the best sharing websites?

Founded in 2007, Bloglovin has over 25,000,000 followers and pulls together millions of bloggers from around the world in one place.  By signing up for Bloglovin, you can select the blogs that interest you by clicking the handy-dandy “Find blogs” button and then you can “follow” them by setting up your own “feed”.

Here are my faves:

I also enjoy reading (and consuming) wine and chocolate, so I have a few on those topics as well.  But you may be interested in fashion, films, car repair, gadgets, or travel.  It’s all there, neatly and tidily organized so you can grab a coffee or a beer and get to reading (or watching) the good stuff.

Your Daily Dose

If you choose, you can have selected blogs or new blogs emailed to you in a convenient email, on a daily or weekly basis. I love getting all of my latest blog-news coming to my email, rather than having a string of emails, one from each blog.  This also allows you to tame the information overload you may feel from multiple emails.  You can schedule your online addictions. Kinda like binge-watching Netflix. Or reading your favourite magazine.

Prefer to see all this on your phone or mobile device? Bloglovin has an App for that:  https://www.bloglovin.com/get_mobile

You can set up your own Bloglovin blog about whatever you’re interested in, and then share with all the other Bloglovin’ bloglovers.  This is helpful if you have friends who are interested in the same topics as you – no more emailing or texting “great websites” to your BFFs.

Bloglovin: It’s a beautiful thing. 

Do you subscribe to any blogs?  Would you use an app like Bloglovin?

Sources:

Bloglovin website. https://www.bloglovin.com/

How to get started on Bloglovin: http://www.wikihow.com/Use-Bloglovin

More sources below…

A&E Television Networks. (2017). The Invention of the Internet. History. http://www.history.com/topics/inventions/invention-of-the-internet

The Internet Society. (2017). Brief History of the Internet. Retrieved from http://www.internetsociety.org/internet/what-internet/history-internet/brief-history-internet

Kemp, Simon. 2017. The incredible growth of the internet over the past five years – explained in detail. Retrieved from https://thenextweb.com/insider/2017/03/06/the-incredible-growth-of-the-internet-over-the-past-five-years-explained-in-detail/#.tnw_qGhAleHH

 

Facebook promotion: Feeling overwhelmed by all of the blogs and social media sources you subscribe to?  Houseclean your email notifications by signing up for bloglovin’ — all your blog faves in one place.  Read more on my blog http://wp.me/p3QRy0-f5O

Twitter: Organize your favourite blogs and find new ones #bloglovin

 

2 thoughts on “Lovin’ Bloglovin’

  1. Hello –

    Great information in your blog post! I haven’t yet subscribed to an app like Bloglovin, but reading your post has made me think more about signing up. I do follow a few blogs, I find I have limited time to check them out, so having them all in one convenient location to view would likely increase the probability of me being able to keep up with them more often!

    I do subscribe to a couple of my favourite blogs via email but sometimes find that it swamps my inbox with emails as many of them post fairly regularly, so then even though they come in to my inbox I often don’t open or read the emails, so it does kind of defeat the purpose. Having all the blogs in one easy to find spot might be just the perfect solution.

    I am most likely to read blogs when I’m sitting on the couch in the evening after my kids are in bed, so downloading the app onto my phone or iPad sounds like the best plan.

    Thanks for the tip. I am going to check out a couple of the blogs you mentioned as well!

    Good luck with the rest of the course.

    Katie

  2. I love this post!

    Often, I am one of those people who get overwhelmed when I do not keep up to date with my social media. Running 5 different accounts for myself, work and volunteer roles, I find it stressful when I miss ‘big news’ online.

    I have never heard of Bloglovin before, but I would be interested in giving it a try. I like the fact that I would be able to customize the information to my tastes. I recently just got into reading blogs, so this may be a good tool to take my hobby to the next step.

    All the best with the last few weeks!

    -Kathleen

Leave a Reply

