COM0014 Blog 2: Good (social media) Gardens Need Time

“What’s good for us, being fed the truth through mass media or the masses of opinions from all over the place or a hybrid of both?” – Mitch Joel, September 2010

The weather this week has been glorious. My garden pulled me outside to dig up the dead stuff, plant the new, annihilate some dandelions and set out the bird bath. I start every growing season with great ambitions for all of my green ‘children.’ Those who didn’t survive winter are mourned, but new additions quickly fill in.

garden view enemy

weeding out the bad

garden view new friend

nurturing the new

What’s good for a garden – the proper growing conditions, a careful gardener and time – are also what make it possible to navigate social media.

The biggest challenge to me – no matter how Joel defines “us,” “good” or “truth” – is how to focus my time and stay on top of the issues that matter the most.

All while not losing sight of the bigger picture.

garden view long

keeping the end in mind

Plants know which nutrients they need to thrive. In my social media ‘garden,’ I too make choices about which channels I use, which groups I join, which people I want to follow.

A good tip from Sevaun Palvetzian, taken from her May 16, 2017 webinar, Five Good Ideas about impactful communication on a shoestring budget, is to make sure you source diversity. Get out of your personal vacuum of comfortable ideas and maintain your curiosity. If you like CBC, source FOX.

But time, more than ever, is the essence of social media. When time moved slowly, we could consider our responses:

1992 headline: “More than 350 years after the Roman Catholic Church condemned Galileo, Pope John Paul II is poised to rectify one of the Church’s most infamous wrongs – the persecution of the Italian astronomer and physicist for proving the Earth moves around the Sun.” – Alan Cowell, New York Times.

Today, not so much:

2017, May Facebook statistic: Every 60 seconds on Facebook: 510,000 comments are posted, 293,000 statuses are updated, and 136,000 photos are uploaded. – The Social Skinny.

So far, my answer has been to limit the amount of time I’m willing to give my social media channels. The downside – with the number and rate of posts – is my sense that I can never know enough, soon enough.

How about you? Would you describe your social media consumption pattern as drought, flood or fine and dandy? How much time do you give each day to your social media channels?

One thought on “COM0014 Blog 2: Good (social media) Gardens Need Time

  1. I can hardly confess to what my pattern is: it’s somewhere in the “I’d like to live on a sandy beach, but I am a full time gardener” spectrum :o)

Leave a Reply

