What Melania Trump Taught Me About Instagram

A month or so ago I read a post analyzing Melania Trump’s personality based on her Twitter photos. It’s a bit of a scary concept, people judging your motives and psyche based on the photos you post. It made me wonder what conclusions someone could draw from my Instagram photos. Like most people using Instagram, I curate what I post (blurry photos or those with 6 chins need not be shared) but what do the photos that I do post say? I’ve mostly just treated it as a visual online diary of what I’ve seen on any given day. After looking back through my photos I realized a couple of the Melania theories hit close to home and in the unlikely event that my posts are used to analyze MY personality, I’d like to offer a few comments and explanations:

 

The view from my window

There’s about 40 photos I’ve taken looking out 2 of my windows. While the angle changes slightly, they are mostly the same view of the same things:

#windy #nbwinter #grandmanan #storm

A post shared by Bonnie Morse (@bhmorse) on

Beautiful #sunrise #grandmanan #ExploreNB #TwoNationVacation

A post shared by Bonnie Morse (@bhmorse) on

What I’m worried it could be interpreted as: I never leave the house.

My explanation: While I can sometimes border on being a hermit, mostly it’s because it’s early or stormy and I don’t want to go outside in my pyjamas.

The view from above

I’ve posted over two dozen photos from the air of a variety of places:

#Washington #Capitol #WashingtonMonument #FromTheAir

A post shared by Bonnie Morse (@bhmorse) on

#Daytona

A post shared by Bonnie Morse (@bhmorse) on

 

What I’m worried it could be interpreted as: I see myself as above others

My explanation: I love the fact that I get to travel by air and the different perspective on the world it provides. I’m trying to share that excitement.

 

Through the glass

A Caesar is my favourite drink as you could tell from the dozen or so photos.

#Casear with a #Sausage

A post shared by Bonnie Morse (@bhmorse) on

Cucumber #Caesar

A post shared by Bonnie Morse (@bhmorse) on

 

What I’m worried it could be interpreted as: I have a drinking problem.

My explanation: I love to try different variations on the drink. (I was slightly shocked by how many were taken at home and am going to have to rethink this one.)

On the plate

I’m guilty of taking photos of my food before eating. I could not even count the number of food photos.

#dessert

A post shared by Bonnie Morse (@bhmorse) on

Curry spiced salmon on cauliflower mousse. #BayofFundySeafoodFestival

A post shared by Bonnie Morse (@bhmorse) on

 

What I’m worried it could be interpreted as: I’m a follower.

My explanation: I’m a follower.

Selfies

My photos of myself are mostly of my feet.

Today's decision: rain boots or sandals?

A post shared by Bonnie Morse (@bhmorse) on

Pedicure=flip flops+snow=wrong

A post shared by Bonnie Morse (@bhmorse) on

 

What I’m worried it could be interpreted as: I have an obsession with feet.

My explanation: My selfies turn out like this:

 

It’s quite a yarn

At least 25% of my photos involve yarn or knitting, mostly of the sock variety.

#TodayOnMyNeedles – working in my mobile office tonight. #knitstagram #knitsocks #KnittersofInstragram

A post shared by Bonnie Morse (@bhmorse) on

Sock number 2 prior to flight number 1. #TodayOnMyNeedles #TravelKnitting #KnitPicksFelici

A post shared by Bonnie Morse (@bhmorse) on

 

What I’m worried it could be interpreted as: See the foot obsession concern above.

My explanation: I knit and take photos when I’m bored/have free time. Naturally they coincide.

Gone to the dogs

There are dozens and dozens of photos of my dog.

#Charlie #DogsofInstagrams #LabradorRetriever

A post shared by Bonnie Morse (@bhmorse) on

Merry Christmas! #Christmas2015 #LabradorRetriever #LifeWithCharlie #PuppiesOfInstagram

A post shared by Bonnie Morse (@bhmorse) on

What can you say? #WhatASmile #LifeWithCharlie #LabradorRetriever #LabsOfInstagram #DogsOfInstagram

A post shared by Bonnie Morse (@bhmorse) on

 

What I’m worried it could be interpreted as: I’m a crazy dog lady.

My explanation: He’s really cute … and I’m a crazy dog lady.

 

I’m wondering what your online photos say about you?

~~~

 

Twitter: What Melania Trump Taught Me About Instagram and the 7 Things I Want You to Know #Social Media

Facebook: What Melania Trump Taught Me About Instagram and the Seven Things I Want You To Know: Interpreting what social media posts.

3 thoughts on “What Melania Trump Taught Me About Instagram

  1. Hi Bonnie,

    I think you did a great blog post. The style is unique and like how you incorporated Instagram photos which depict exactly what you mean. To me it looks like true primary sources for proper research.

    I guess you worry about how people will interpret your posts, but don’t, they’re great, and ppl don’t think about them nearly as much as you do.

    What I think it says about you, is that you like to share beautiful images and experiences that make you happy. Your posts are log of life as you see it through your own eyes.

    I love the photo of your dog at Christmas!

    Cheers.

    M

  2. Hi Bonnie –

    I really enjoyed reading your blog post. I liked the style you used to write the blog and liked your own critique of your Instagram photos. The way you shared the photos and then your explanations was engaging and I found myself laughing as I read along. Great post!
    I would say I am definitely guilty of posting many pictures on my Instagram of my kids! So I am quite confident that if I took a quick scroll through my Instagram account it would be mostly kids, flowers and cows! I guess my feed would show that I love being a mom, spending time in my gardens and the outdoors and love farm life (which I’m sure you learned from my blog post too!)

  3. Hello Bonnie
    I truly enjoy Picture blogging. It is like a photo album. Every one like to sit down and go through the old picture albums. It is history in the making.
    I was drawn to you as we have a lot in common. This stirred my inner emotions of attachment and the human need. We like like minded people. Your blog in my eyes was a success. Good job.

Leave a Reply

