COM0011: Post #1 – “One Second, I’ll Google That!”

It is evident that mobile technology plays a huge role in our daily lives. From cell phones to cars and beyond, technology is what makes society what it is. But without thinking about it, do you even realize how reliant you are on it?

The other day I was at a formal event for my University. Between the short conversations with students and professors, I was talking to an individual about this certificate program. He too was very interested in it and wanted to learn more. As he started asking more questions, I found myself not being able to accurately convey the necessary information to him the way I wanted to. That is when I said, “One second, I’ll Google that.”

For a second I paused. “Did I just say that,” I said to myself. This was one of the first times I have ever caught myself not being able to explain something to the best of my ability. Being a communications student, this was shocking to me. I was dependent on searching Google to find the Algonquin certificate program to explain the courses.

I must admit, it seems perfectly reasonable to pull out your phone part way through a conversation to show the other person a photo or video. In contrast, I had to rely on technology to further explain a program I am taking and why I think it is beneficial to his future as well. Something there just is not right.

People, just like myself, are slowly losing the ability to properly link their thoughts and opinions to others during conversations. The purpose of this post is not to suggest you eliminate technology from your everyday lives because that is impossible. The point I am trying to make here is that individuals should look back on their actions that use technology.

Image result

Image above link

Are there ways to overcome this reliance on technology moving forward in future conversations? The answer is yes. By being aware of these tendencies, individuals can work on leaving technology out of person-to-person interactions, just like I will try to do moving forward!

What are your thoughts? Technology entering conversations, hinder, or strengthen the value of the interaction?

Need more information before picking a side? Check out this awesome communication study by Emily Drago.

Thanks for reading!

– Kathleen

______________________________________________________________________________

Promotion via Tweet:

Are you guilty? “One Second, I’ll Google That!” reflects on personal tendencies that should be broken regarding face-to-face communication!
Promotion via Facebook:

What are you guilty of today?

“One Second, I’ll Google That!” reflects on tendencies that should be broken regarding modern day conversations. When dealing with face-to-face interactions technology can both strengthen and hinder the quality.

Find out how below!

http://wp.me/p3QRy0-eMN

9 thoughts on “COM0011: Post #1 – “One Second, I’ll Google That!”

  1. Hi Kathleen,

    Great Topic!
    I actually had the same experience when I was visiting my family in Iran two months ago. We were at a party when a friend of mine asked about the Persian population in Canada. I thought for a moment and couldn’t recall it, so I said: let me google it. Although I gave her the answer in a second after googling it, I felt really ashamed of my poor knowledge.

    I am sure many of us still remember those days that we knew all our friends’ and relatives’
    home phone numbers by heart and now I don’t even know my husband’s cell phone number!

    This makes me wonder what if our brain cells start to deteriorate just because we don’t use them as much!

    Cheers,
    Leila

  2. Hi Kathleen –
    Great blog post! I found myself laughing as I was reading it, thinking about how often I google an answer when I can’t instantly come up with the material or topic I’m trying to tell someone about. As I find myself answering an endless stream of questions from my ever-inquisitive four year old, I often praise my own parents who used to have to come up with the answers from a book or from their own pre-existing knowledge! It is quite amazing to have so much information at our fingertips – but I agree that at times it likely makes us a bit lazy in that we don’t take very long trying to think through the answer before we pull out a device to help us find the answer on the internet.

  3. Hi Kathleen,

    I have definitely needed Google to help me out on several occasions. I do remember the times when my parents were my own personal Google, but those times have come to an end. Nowadays I’m impressed by how my parents had the answers from mediums that weren’t the internet.
    Keep up the good work!

  4. Hello Kathleen
    I am of that generation of book knowledge. I have a library of reference books. I still enjoy a newspaper and books. I like the feel of the paper. It adds to the enjoyment.
    Like all things one must use judgement , you know , too much of a good thing is bad. I try to solve the questions, but if all fails Google it is. You are right on target. Thank you for sharing.

  5. It brings up an interesting concept in that why google and technology has made access to information exponentially easier. I’ve surrendered to resisting it and accept it as a fact of life. I wholeheartedly agree that awareness is the only way to break tendency of reliance on tech in order to maintain face-to-face communication.

    Kind of funny how the link to your photo leads to a page that says “to all the lazy people out there go to this link” which makes you watch them do a google search for you, which is actually more time consuming than simply going to google directly. They contradict themselves. That being said, I think the image is fitting for your blogpost.

    To answer your question “What are your thoughts? Technology entering conversations, hinder, or strengthen the value of the interaction?”, I think that conversations ABOUT technology do strengthen the value of the interaction because it’s a current phenomenon and people have a need to interact with eachother to understand their environment and how they are similar or different to one another. When technology enters conversations haphazardly, it later gives people phenomena to talk about. It also is just the way things change, I guess. As society changes so will our communication.

  6. Hi Kathleen!

    I really like this. I completely agree with your post. I think it’s really interesting how we aren’t challenged to think the same way we once were. I also see the way conversations are shifting to things we’ve looked at or heard about through the internet.
    I look forward to reading more of your thoughts.

    Cari Cels

  7. Hi Kathleen, I have definately noticed the difference between technology usage. One example I will give is a trip to Cuba in 2008 and a trip to Europe in 2014 I went on. During the Cuba trip I went with a guidebook and noticed I was talking to many people in order to point me in the right direction about places I was trying to get to. I ended up in quite a few conversations with locals and got many wonderful pictures from that trip. During the Europe trip I had taken both a laptop computer and my cellphone which I set to airplane mode and ended up using wi-fi which was pretty much everywhere. I noticed I was less focused on interacting with locals during this trip and more focused on shooting footage for a Youtube channel I was running at the time. I noticed I didn’t take that many pictures on this trip.

  8. I think everyone can relate to your post. I certainly can!
    However, I have taken to sternly admonishing friends when we are collectively trying to remember something – usually a movie, actor/actress, musician, etc. – and someone pulls out their phone. Or if they continue, I demand they not tell me as I attempt to practice my brain in accessing its own ‘search history’. I have a method of searching my own ‘memory database’ (typically for names), and if I exhaust that strategy and still do not have what I’m looking for, I can accept that I simply do not remember, and then pull out my own phone. It’s not as efficient as Google, but, I try my best!

  9. Hi Kathleen, really interesting and so true, I find myself doing this almost everyday. However, I think it is very helpful in a way and we should embrace these new technologies. For instance, I use Google all the time at work. I am obligated to speak 3 languages on a daily basis, so word searching drains my poor cellphone’s battery away. I mix-up words all the time and I have to translate everyday, but with my good friend Google or Bon Patron, it makes my job way easier.

    Great post!

    Cheers,
    Alex

Leave a Reply

