COM0015 – Blog Post 3 – Professional Networking Now and in the Future

I am an introverted person; I am uncomfortable thinking about networking in person, and anxious at the thought of physically walking into a room of strangers. I have learned in the past few years that once I shrug off the negative feelings, I can share knowledge and information with others who don’t necessarily share my passions but who find me intelligent and easy to talk to.

On the other hand, I do well analyzing situations and thinking conceptually which leads to communicating very well in writing. Social media is perfect for me, as I listen, research and learn. I have not yet taken the step of joining groups or commenting on blog posts outside of my comfort zone, but I am gearing up to do so. It’s great to listen but I’m sure once I make the move from passive to active, it will be interesting and rewarding to me.

My first goal for the immediate future is to update my LinkedIn profile, using a benefits oriented profile so that potential partners recognize the advantage of working with me. Working on my profile will also include asking past co-workers, instructors and business friends for endorsements on my specific skills, as well as recommendations related to my professional abilities. I will feel more confident once this is completed to begin building relationships with potential allies, partners, and customers.  I will also eventually join and actively participate in groups related to two of my passions, social media and editing.

My second goal will be pushing outside of my comfort zone by attending one in-person networking event every two to three months and introducing myself to at least one new person at each one. I will share my passion about the work I love. As I read on Business Insider, “It’s not always about who you know, but who knows you.”

The obstacles in my way are twofold: first, I am shy, but I am working on that aspect of myself; second, I am currently dealing with ailing, elderly parents and I cannot always use my time as planned. But neither of my goals are unattainable!

Leave a Reply

