COM0015 – Blog #1 Tools & Sources

I seem to be behind the times when it comes to using social media listening tools. I have never used an RSS feed or thought to use Google Alerts. If something doesn’t make obvious sense to me, I tend to shy away from it instead of trying to figure it out. Unfortunately, I have always thought of these tools as being complicated. Thankfully, after learning a little bit more about RSS feeds and other trend listening tools, I am no longer intimated by them and will try them out. This will help save time and garner faster results.

In my industry, we do a lot of work with major corporations and I have found the two trend listening tools that I use is Google News and Twitter. I like Google News because of the search capabilities. I can look for a specific corporation within a certain time frame and I can find many different articles quickly to gather information on them. We then turn around and use that information to help sell ourselves to them in hopes to get their business. I also use Twitter for mainstream news. Twitter is a great tool as you can search using hashtags to find topics you’re interested in. It’s also great because of the way it uses short headlines to grab your attention. If you’re not interested in a particular tweet, it takes no time at all to just scan over it and move on.

In my personal life, I use BuzzFeed and Facebook, as well as Twitter, as my main sources of news. I find these social media platforms give you a wide variety of information on many diverse topics. I believe it is very important to be in the know when it comes to current events. It allows us to have intelligent conversations with our peers, and also to make informed decisions in our everyday lives.

In my job, being up to date with what is happening in the world is very important. It’s not always obvious to us when a corporation has an issue that we believe we can help them with. More often than not we have to go looking for issues that they didn’t even know they had. Being able to get out in front of a problem is key and having the right social media tools to do that has proven helpful.

Leave a Reply

