COM0014 – Blog #1: My Cuban Vacation

Last May, I went on my FIRST vacation! Maybe this doesn’t seem that exciting or significant to you, but I am 30 years old and have never ever been on a vacation. Every year, my friends, co-workers and family all travel somewhere warm and I seethe with jealousy while I am left to enjoy Ottawa’s never-ending winters!  Let’s back track a bit to a few weeks before my vacation… One cold winters’ evening I was sitting on the couch with my husband complaining about the cold and snow when I received a group Facebook message. My sister-in-law and cousin were going to Cuba and they wanted me to come. I laughed as I told my husband about the message, I couldn’t afford a vacation, we have a five year old and no one to help out with drop off and pick up from school and daycare. But then they told me the price. For $700 I could eat, drink, tan, swim, READ (when was the last time I read a book) and relax….seven hundred dollars…..how could I say no?! So, with a little encouragement from my husband, I took a plunge and agreed to go (so not like me!)

The vacation was amazing – the beach was to die for, the food was plentiful, the drinks even more plentiful and the company fantastic. Our rooms were old and the food was bland but we had a blast. I am sure you can imagine the days on the beach, the pure bliss of no one asking me to do anything for them, no laundry, no lunch making, no messes to pick up, no dishes to do and tons of uninterrupted time to read.

beach

My favourite day of the trip was mid-week; we went on a day-long Catamaran excursion. If you’ve ever been to Cuba, I think you’ll understand that it feels like you have gone back in time, the rooms looked like they hadn’t been updated since the 1970’s and the rest of the resort was not all that much better, so the crisp white Catamaran on the beautiful ocean was an amazing sight. We traveled from Varadero to Cayo Coco. The music was blaring, the drinks were plentiful, the guides were fluent in many languages and the wind was blowing just enough to make us forget how hot the May sun is in Cuba. We stopped along the way to swim with the dolphins, and scuba dive in the middle of the ocean. I am generally not a fan of swimming in lakes so the fact that I was comfortable enough to get out in the middle of the ocean and swim with the fish and potential sharks was really just surreal. We had two hours in Cayo Coco for an amazing seafood lunch and then we sailed back to Varadero.

Catamaran1.jpg

Before I knew it the week was over and I was back home with my husband and daughter who I’d missed so much, a little burnt and totally covered in bug bites with only the memories of the hot sun, the places we’d seen and the friends we met on our trip. I wasn’t able to get away this year, but I am perhaps a little less jealous of those who have and very much looking forward to a trip with my husband and daughter next year.

Leave a Reply

