Living Past Being A Victim (COM0011)

Every single day there is a child somewhere out there in the world that is suffering from some form of abuse.  Some boy or girl who attends school with your child, is likely being abused at home either mentally, emotionally, physically and possibly even sexually.

untitled

There needs to be more done to stop these hideous crimes against children. Many of these children grow up never sharing their story, keeping things hidden for years.Living in shame of what has happened to them and suffering in silence. Never understanding that they have not done anything wrong and don’t deserve to be treated this way. That it’s truly not their fault.

There is an article in the National Post that has a headline that reads, One-third of Canadians have suffered child abuse, highest rates in the western provinces, study says.  Think about that for a minute, one-third of Canadians! That’s  a lot of people who have been abused. Possibly your friend, co-worker, next door neighbour, your doctor, a local radio celebrity, a news broadcaster, or even the grocery store clerk you see on a regular basis. However as many won’t ever tell their story, we generally tend to look past the cold harsh reality of abuse that happens every single day.

It’s rather ironic for me that it also states in the title that the highest rates are in the western provinces, as that is where my abuse began as well.  Sadly I am one of these statistics. However, I am here to say enough is enough. No longer will I keep quiet. No more will I hide in shame from the abuse I suffered not only as a child, but well into my adult years. I am here to take a stand, to be that voice for the millions of children and people, that suffer from abuse.

I want to share my horrific story. I want others to be more aware of what happens behind that closed-door each and every day, all over the world.  The fear, hurt and sense of loss that a child  goes through when they are abused is something that we can no longer allow to continue happening. We need to take a stand and reach out to these children (possibly now adults) to let them know, they are not alone!

In my story Living Past Being A Victim, you will have a better understanding of what it’s like to be in that abused child’s shoes………My Shoes!

12990931_10156715530590231_2420758712943343071_n

Walk through each chapter as I describe what it was like to be me, to be the child that was severely abused. Understand the fear that comes with being that abused child.

The hurt, rejection and shame that comes with the many other psychological issues . Get a real understanding of the struggles that come with the life of a child that lived through every form of abuse all at once,  on a regular occurrence.

Go inside the mind of someone who has been there.  feel the roller coaster ride of emotions that go hand in hand in a child’s life while suffering from abuse.
Help others understand that they are not alone. Help them see that they don’t have to live the kind of abusive life pattern that I did. Get the message out there that there is a different world that they can live and be free of abuse.

Lets help others understand that living past being a victim,  is truly possible.

 

Danielle Gallant Simms

 

Facebook Promotion:

For anyone that truly knows me, I have never been one to hide the
fact that I was abused as a child. I have always tried to be open and
honest about my past as it is a big part of who I am today.

I have been fortunate to share my story in Living Past Being A Victim.
Now it’s time to let others know that abuse in any form needs to stop
here and now. Children and adults all over this world are being abused
at this very moment. Let’s give them the voice that they deserve. Help
end abuse. It doesn’t need to be this way for anyone.

Follow my journey as I get my voice out there one post at a time to
help end child abuse!

https://www.facebook.com/LivingPastBeingAVictim/

https://algonquincollegesocialmedia.wordpress.com/2017/01/17/living-past-being-a-victim/

Twitter Promotion

Silence no more. Stop child abuse one Tweet at a time.

https://wordpress.com/post/algonquincollegesocialmedia.wordpress.com/43927

#LivingPastBeingAVictim

7 thoughts on “Living Past Being A Victim (COM0011)

  1. Hi Danielle. I am sorry to hear of your history with abuse. No child, or adult for that matter, should ever be subjected to such cruelty. I’ve luckily never been in that situation myself but my Mom works with the Women’s Sexual Assault Center of Renfrew County and growing up, I’ve met many amazing and strong women who have gone through abuse. On behalf of all women everywhere I want to thank you for speaking up! No one should feel ashamed or blamed for what happened to them and I am glad you have found an outlet to voice your story and give people with similar backgrounds some support knowing they are not alone.

    This is one of my favourite things about social media! It brings people from all different parts of the world, from all different backgrounds together to support one another.

    Wishing you all the best in your future endeavors!

    • Thank you. It’s not easy having the courage to stand up and say something about ourselves, but even harder when you have been abused as you don’t want that spotlight on you. No person should ever have to feel ashamed for the abuse that they have suffered.

      I want others to see that they don’t have to hide. Let your past make you stronger. I think that it’s about time that others see the real truth of how abuse can take a toll on someone. I want others to allow their past to be a part o their story but not everything about their lives.

      How long has your mom worked for a Women’s Sexual Assault Clinic? Even if you haven’t been subjected to the abuse yourself, I am sure that you can understand as your mom deals with these kinds of situations daily. I would think that living with someone that works in the field, you still have decent understanding the violence that is out there daily.

  2. HI Danielle – I think you are an incredibly brave person. Sharing your story isn’t easy, but is sure to help someone else along the way. I have seen how abuse destroys a person and renders them incapable of normal function, sometimes even making survival impossible. I really believe we can end this cycle by bringing abuse into the open and ending the silence and fear. I have taught my own child to be very protective of his own body, and that saying no to physical affection from strangers and friends or family is okay. Keep being brave and helping other people overcome their struggles, Danielle.

    • Thank you so much for your kind words. Abuse can destroy a person and I just want to share with others to help end abuse. To stand up ad say no more. To be brave and know that there is a life out there waiting for them and abuse can be a thing of their past as well.

  3. Dear Danielle, you are a very brave person for sharing your story and more so turning such painful and difficult situation into awareness for others to know that abuse in any form needs to stop. In many cases it’s very difficult to leave an abusive situation because those who are being abused are trapped, however, raising awareness and helping others realize that changing the way you think about yourself is an important step. Self compassion is a key factor in helping those who are being abused to alleviate both shame and self-judgement. As you have stated clearly that we need to “get the message out there that there is a different world that they can live and be free of abuse. Let’s help end child abuse!

Leave a Reply

