Christmas shopping

It’s that time of the year again, Christmas is in the air, some claim its the best time of the year, others not so much, but one thing we must all do during this great season is Christmas shopping. Personally I don’t enjoy doing present shopping, so christmas time is stressful for me because I already struggle to buy for one person, now I have to buy for six….. I don’t know what it is about christmas shopping, I just don’t like it, partly because it hurts to spend money when I don’t have the money to spend. also i can’t bare get someone a bad gift, it has to be something nice.

Anyways, i struggle a lot to find presents suitable for people, I don’t like just buying a gift card or socks, if I’m getting someone a present it’s gonna be something good. Since this is my first year in 6 years I am not working during the christmas time, money is tight. I think it is just I’m not creative enough like other people when it comes to gifts, I see some people will give out a full basket of clothing, chocolate and other cool stuff, meanwhile I bought my mum a CD. At the end of the day I still love christmas and all the loving that goes with it on christmas day.

2 thoughts on “Christmas shopping

  1. I actually just had a wonderful conversation with a client regarding Christmas and the shopping thats associated with it. I asked her if she had finished hers and she said not yet – but I have an idea. She then went on to tell me that instead of exchanging gifts they exchange ‘experiences’. They do this for all holidays – birthdays, christmas etc. They have done everything from skydiving to dodgeball archery to going to see a broadway show. It’s such a great idea and something we can all learn from. The holidays are about spending time with those you love and shouldn’t have so much focus on what your buying. Maybe we all need to take a page from this woman’s book and start offering experiences. It doesn’t even have to expensive it could be as simple as a paint night or a baseball game – we have a whole World of social media out there and people to ask for ideas from! Use other people for inspiration, ask for suggestions – that’s one of the major benefits of being online! 🙂

  2. I love this idea so much! I was a teacher for several years and amassed many little gifts from students. Only one has survived (a set of Santa and Mrs. Claus salt and pepper shakers). What I remember far more are the moments when I connected with the children I taught. At the end of day, those are the gifts I really appreciated.

Leave a Reply

