Authentic Social Media

Hello everyone,

While completing assignment 2, I ran across this blog post:

Truth Will Out – Why Authenticity is the Key to Growing Your Business

Authenticity on social media seems to be something that concerns many of us and I appreciated this article’s assertion that “the truth will out”.

Balancing self promotion with humility is something that troubles me. I recently deactivated my Facebook account because I needed a temporary respite while I deal with some real life stuff, but often I found myself posting or reacting to things that were not really me. I kind of got swept in some digital wake behind the latest cute cat video or something like that and it really left me feeling strange. I know that Facebook isn’t the place to worry about authenticity, but as accounts undergo more and more scrutiny, does it behoove us to be more careful about what we like, comment on or share?

Dostoevsky once said you can judge a society by entering its prisons, I wonder what he would make of Facebook?

4 thoughts on “Authentic Social Media

  1. Wow, that is one comprehensive reference! Thanks, Doug, for sharing the ‘Truth will out’ blog post. It certainly covers what we’re trying to learn about authenticity and boundaries as we examine personal branding.

    Since I’m not on Facebook, it would be presumptuous of me to offer advice or make comment, but I think you’re right in sensing that you should be cautious about everything you post there — even the ‘Like’ and ‘Share’ choices. They could come across as endorsements, and they won’t necessarily ALWAYS represent what you believe or how you feel. If I were using that channel, I think I’d want to avoid the crowd and post only when I feel very strongly about something and can respond in a way that truly reflects my character, my values.

  2. I’ve put up, then ignored, then returned to my Facebook page more times than I can count, partly because it feels too much like a popularity contest. I keep my page instead as a personal bookmarking site, saving links to people, organizations and ideas that I like. It may be ‘authentic’, but it’s also counter-productive in terms of establishing a consistent brand or use of the medium. I’m not sure how to resolve my own ambivalence – I’m currently stuck in approach-and-avoid. Thanks for the article, Doug.

  3. I have a love hate relationship with Facebook. I deleted the app from my phone because I felt like I was always wasting my time on it. I wasn’t using it to really benefit myself, or to build my brand, but to see what others were up to and to read funny articles. I like and share articles that I find interesting at the time, and I tag my friends in posts I find humorous. That’s about the extent my Facebook use goes. I don’t think it really represents me in an authentic way, I just use it sometimes to pass the time.

  4. I have never once logged into Facebook. It never resonated with me. I hear stories of people feeling like they need a break from it (and other social media). Social media has truly been one of the biggest human social experiments. Hopefully all of the things we learn (good and bad) from social media we can share with friends and families so that they do not experience the same things.

Leave a Reply

