Dancing in the eye of a hurricane

Our week 2 readings included a list of seven risks we shouldn’t take with social media:

  1. anything you do can leak out
  2. do not overpromote
  3. do not overpost
  4. keep the negativity at bay
  5. do not post sexual, religious, political and graphic material
  6. never fight with anyone on social networks
  7. take legal action in private, if necessary

These are really great rules, and I do my best to abide by them. (Warning: from time to time I may bend #5.  Like now: Donald Trump broke all of these rules and won the American election.)

So I’m adding Risk 8: don’t forget to breathe.  (We are learning about social media in a time of exponential growth and change.)


I’m glad I read that

This week, I send my thanks to fellow Social Media student Adam M. Johnston who is nearing the end of this five-course program.  His post, “Blog Post 1: Tools and Sources” helped me glimpse the wider social media forest.  If you haven’t seen the gorgeous Conversation Prism graphic he mentions, take a look.  A daisy-like spectrum, its 28 petals are dotted with dozens of social media platform logos.  The colour bands are organized around themes (e.g., collaboration, social commerce, blog platforms), which are further grouped around seven macro-themes.  These include community, crisis, support, product, sales, marketing and public relations.

As its developer, Brian Solis says: “The Conversation Prism is in of itself, one of the industry’s most comprehensive visual studies of how we use networks and how that changes over time.”

When I first started to study the graphic, I thought it was a neat way to mapyou the social media landscape.  But on reading more about Brian Solis’ explanation of its ‘conversational’ purpose, I realized that it will be an invaluable resource when we begin putting together our personal branding assignment (Due: December 5).  Using the tool properly means beginning at its centre, which is “You.”


The wisdom of a columnist

Adam also introduced me to Thomas Friedman, a globalization tech trend writer and New York Times op ed columnist.  This man makes sense of the expanding cyber-universe in which we live.  I realize that the biggest challenge I’m facing in this course (and in my life, really) is how to come to terms with the size and rapidity of change with which we’re all living.  I’ll be lining up at Chapters on November 22 to get a copy of his new book, Thank you for being late.

Thomas’ 58-minute, 46-second Chicago talk was worth every second, and it finishes with an invitation to “apply hope.”  In this time of tumult, he argues that values matter.  The key one is the Golden Rule, which has taken rather a beating lately.  Its comeback will depend on us building close families and connected communities.  These are what will keep us connected, protected and respected – a calm centre in the eye of history’s hurricane.

eye-of-a-hurricane

2 thoughts on “Dancing in the eye of a hurricane

  1. You’re welcome. I picked up Thomas Friedman’s new book this morning (Thank you for being late). I’ll let the group know of any more gems he has to offer re: social media.

Leave a Reply

