Music + Film = Magic

I love music. I love film. Thankfully, they are a match made in heaven. I have been studying and creating (mostly experimental) films for the past 10 years. Unsurprisingly, the majority of my films have been narratives and accompanied by a prominent soundtrack. There are literally thousands of examples where music and film match almost perfectly.

Below are some of my favorite scenes. What are some of yours? 

Trainspotting (1996)

This is the film that got me into films. The film that made me want to make films. There are many parts of this film I like; great direction by Danny Boyle, amazing cinematography by Brian Tufano, awesome cast etc., but the one thing that has always stuck with me is the opening scene. Check it out …

The Royal Tenenbaums (2001)

One of the first feature films from the great director Wes Anderson. He has since gone on to have a fantastic career and his style has been mimicked and studied by inspiring filmmakers worldwide. What I love most about this scene is the buildup just prior to us seeing the first on screen meeting between these two actors. It is culminated as soon as she walks off the bus and the picture goes slow motion and the classic song “These Days” by Nico begins. The camera switches to close ups and you can almost ‘feel’ the history between the two characters.

Last Days (2005)

This film isn’t for everyone. It is loosely based on the last days of Kurt Cobain, so the pace is relatively slow and somber. What I like most about this particular scene is the very long tracking back camera technique. The clangy and dark music being played by the actor Michael Pitt compliments the long and slow tracking back well. It gives you the feeling that you are slowly moving away from someone in crisis and it pains you to leave.

“Fleeting” teaser trailer (2016)

Ok this is a bit of self promotion but heck why not! This is a teaser trailer for my new short film which will premiere in Ottawa winter 2017. The final film will use both narration and music to help tell its story but as you know by now, I love a good music track to go along with beautiful images and that is what I aimed to do with the teaser.

Please note the video is best watched in 1080 HD

So, what memorable scenes can you think of where music plays a big role in setting the mood? I would love to hear from you and see this Music + Film list get bigger!

One thought on “Music + Film = Magic

Leave a Reply

