Dare to be You!

Do you remember as kids when your buddies would double dare you to do something and you just had to prove to them that you could?  Now that we have grown older, do you find that you are more laid back and maybe do not have to prove anything?

At some point in life we’re all faced with a decision of whether to take that risk. Whether it’s leaving a miserable job, moving to a different position that stretches you, starting your own business, or even taking on a hard assignment, greatness requires risk!

Whether you succeed or fail, the act of taking a risk will strengthen you and give you faith in yourself as well as the confidence to do even more. I often wonder maybe if we’re meant to do things that scare us so we can build greatness in ourselves.

When you take the path of shyness and fear, your destiny is to wonder, years later, what might have been. I say to go for it! The cost may be great but the reward may be bigger. My mother always told me to get inspired and take the chance you need today.

I see that we do lose confidence as we grow older, maybe because as we grow older we gain more experience. It is natural that we have bad experiences which affect our confidence. I often see that people are not strong enough to take the good out of every bad thing that happens to us and use it to our advantage. By doing this, we grow more cautious about life, we remember discouraging things that happened to us in the past, or things people have said and we let it affect us.

I believe a healthy support network of friends and family who constantly encourage you instead of put you down. Be around people you can rely on, loyal, honest and trustworthy. I find they help you feel safe and less scrutinized by society, and they give you the leg up to start feeling good about yourself.

One thought on “Dare to be You!

  1. I wonder if some people become more risk-adverse as they age because they have more to lose in terms of career prestige, reputation, actual net worth etc. For myself, I take more risks because now in my 50s I don’t care what anyone thinks of me and I trust myself more to be able to handle whatever comes up. Life is far more interesting and exciting now than it has ever been. Loved your post!

Leave a Reply

