COM0014 – Blog Post #6 – Do People Know Your Story?

“What about your childhood shaped you for this moment?”

Recently, I was offered a new position as an Associate Manager of Corporate Events at OLG where I work. After College, I always had a goal of becoming a manager and expanding my career at OLG. Growing up, I was always very close with family and I was involved in a lot of extracurricular activities and teams such as dance, swimming lessons, soccer, gymnastics, and figure skating. The experience of being part of a team shaped me into the person I am today. I learned that you need to share the spotlight and help out when it is needed – a lot of valuable life lessons that I still use today. Teamwork is very important when in the workplace. Although I do work independently a lot, I also count on my team members and co workers for a lot of things. Learning about team work at such a young age really helped me to understand just how important it is in all areas of life. A lot of times in life you will need to work as a team – whether that be your family team, friends, sports teams, colleagues, etc., teamwork is a valuable life lesson.

I believe that my experience working in a team as a child shaped me to be a manager today. From a young age, I learned how to be reliable, loyal, responsible, and most importantly to not let my team down. I feel that when you are a manager, teamwork is very important. Not only because you are in charge, but you do not want to let your colleagues down. In addition to teamwork in sports teams, my family has always been super close and they have helped and supported me and shaped me into the person I am today. My dad always said “there’s no I in team” and that quote has really stuck with me my entire life.

Leave a Reply

