True memories – days gone by

Once upon a time, there was a teenager, and life was grand.  It was just that, life; fun and fancy free.  I really do have found memories of my teenage years.  Things were easy, I could do what I pleased, when I pleased.  It was easy to  find a part-time job, even in the “sticks”, and work was just down the street, a five minute drive.  On week-ends friends got together for a week-end balm fire. Friends were great, we all would hang out, gossip and drank a few beers. Life was easy;  well at least not as hard as it is today…at least financially.

Minimum wage today is about $11.40, gas prices fluctuate around the $1.04 mark; beer a whooping $40 for a case of 24.  At $11.40 an hour one needs to put in almost of full day of work pay for cacost-of-beerse of beer.  YIKES!  How do college students to it today?  A movie ticket is about $13, and that’s not wth popcorn or a chocolate bar. Did you also notice that the size of the chocolate bars are shrinking and yet the prices stay the same?  I’ve been noticing that this has been happening with other foods, such as Tropicana orange juice down by 7.8 per cent, Häagen-Dazs ice cream by 12.5 per cent, Ivory dish detergent by a whopping 20 per cent (http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/newfoundland-labrador/rezori-why-your-groceries-are-getting-smaller-but-still-cost-the-same-1.2795669).

The rise in the cost of living is getting crazy; just like the new mortgage rules that came into effect last week, where buyers need to have a 20% down payment.  Now that a lot of cash up front, specially for the first time buyers.

Back in the day, I was earning a mere $10 an hour – gas was .50 cents, a ticket to the movies about $5, the transit in Toronto was .15 cash one way, yup and a case of bear (24) was about $15.  We did not need to work as many hours to pay off the grocery bill, or the week-end party.  But then again, things did not cost as much; the cost of living was more balanced – at least from my perspective. Those where the days my friends.

 

http://globalnews.ca/news/1140421/whats-a-24-of-molson-cost-a-pan-canadian-compariso

3 thoughts on “True memories – days gone by

  1. They truly were. I used to wonder why people today have such huge debt and thought it was because of our consumer mentalities and lifestyles. When I was a child, my parents didn’t go on a cruise every year for vacation. Maybe we went camping. Maybe. But I’ve since learned that real wages and earning power has been steadily declining since the 1970s. You’ve outlined that quite clearly here. It’s sad and horrifying, especially for the next generation coming up. I don’t know how they will cope, let alone succeed.

  2. Preach! I am living that broke student life and it is not fun. Working at a minimum wage job and paying for school is not easy. You have to work a lot of hours to afford to go to school, and then you’re in school and don’t have time to do assignments because you need to work to pay for school. I’m so lucky that my parents don’t charge me rent or I’d be in real trouble. I’ve long since accepted that I can’t afford to go out to the movies, but that’s just part of the broke student life.

Leave a Reply

