Virginia St-Denis: The evolving brand

While a brand helps ensure a consistent image of a person or corporation, it is important that the brand evolve to keep up with the times.

For 25 years, my personal brand has been as a publishing professional — writing, editing, photographing, desktop publishing and (in the past 12 years) managing newspapers, magazines and journals. While some may say I’m a Jill of all trades and master of none, I prefer to think of it as having a broad overview of the entire publishing process and being able to understand and plan all of the elements. This makes me unique; this makes me an invaluable member of a team of one or more people on most any print serial publication.

However, with electronic publishing and social media weakening traditional publications, I am taking steps to keep up with the times and expand my horizons and my brand. Along with my print publications, I focus more on the three websites I maintained and the monthly e-newsletter I launched than I used to focus on years ago. To help me standout in electronic publishing, I am in the fourth of five courses in Algonquin College’s Social Media certificate program and expect to graduate in February 2017.

More and more people are developing social media skills, so I plan to build on these skills by taking the Social Media Compliance Management certificate program next. Being able to create and implement policies that will not only help build a social media brand, but also address privacy and security issues and manage risks should continue to set me apart from others in this growing field.

The combination of these courses and others I’m taking illustrate that I have an interest in learning and I’m able to acquire new skills. That’s one of my best traits, and it can’t be taught.

Leave a Reply

