Can You Write the BEST Status Update in the Class?

My headline got a 77!  Read on and then beat my score!

Do Facebook status updates pop into your head throughout the day?

At 6:30 am, this status came out of thin (wet) air:  Max may be blind, but he doesn’t care about the rain, so long as he is getting his walk.   fbstatus

I laughed at myself.  I would never post this, but we all know people who think we are waiting to hear about their mundane life story in real time.

Having just read all about monitoring social media and watched every TED talk the search engines found for me, I got to thinking about what makes a good status update.  My “friends” keep telling me how much they enjoy mine, but I had never considered what distinguished them from the eye rollers.

My Personal Status Strategy

  • 1 – 2 updates a day. The friends I enjoy are not on Facebook hourly, so posting more would diminish the value of most messages because they would resort to skimming rather than stopping to see what shenanigans I am writing about.
  • 1 repost a day – but making sure I put my own thoughts on the repost.
  • No preaching to the choir.
  • No personal angst.
  • Careful wording – making the mundane interesting.
  • Using humour as much as possible.

What the Experts Advise

For branding status strategies, I did some research on pumping up the wording to optimize hits, shares, and conversions.  I was amazed at all the teaching tools out there!

The Anatomy of a Successful Facebook Post was a good scan, but Social Media Examiner’s 6 Tips to Improve Facebook Posts was more eye-opening.  I must have had the post open for over an hour as I went back and forth between the article and its embedded links to other sites.

I got rather competitive with myself when I got to the Headline Analyzer.  You put in a headline/status update and then find out your score.  Using the feedback, keep tweaking until you get a good score.  I am determined to break 77!

Feedback from the Headline Analyzer

  • How to strengthen the headline.
  • What the linguistic weaknesses of the headline are.
  • What the headline would look like in a Google Search.
  • What it would look like as an email subject line.
  • What the reader sees when he or she skims through the title.
  • What they give you as a numerical score.

My First Attempt On Headline Analyzer

again

The Trap

In trying to up my score, I strayed terribly from the actual subject.  These tools will give us tips, but I am loathe to let them have the final say in anything I write.

It is, however, a useful exercise!

Your Mission, Should You Choose to Accept It: 

Write the Best Status in the Class!

  1. Play with the Headline Analyzer to try and get the highest score.
  2. In the comments, post your status and the score you got!
  3. The winner gets bragging rights!

GO!!!

8 thoughts on “Can You Write the BEST Status Update in the Class?

  1. I love a game and I love a challenge and I love your blog post — very engaging!! So, I took one quick pass and you are still top of the class. I looked at my past highest engaged FB headings. This was my winner (so sad … this was my winner) “Today calls for lorazepam and vodka”
    Your Headline’s EMV Score:
    33.33%
    This score indicates that your headline has a total of 33.33% Emotional Marketing Value (EMV) Words. To put that in perspective, the English language contains approximately 20% EMV words.
    And for comparison, most professional copywriters’ headlines will have 30%-40% EMV Words in their headlines, while the most gifted copywriters will have 50%-75% EMV words in headlines.
    A perfect score would be 100%, but that is rare unless your headline is less than five words.
    While the overall EMV score for your headline is 33.33%, your headline also has the following predominant emotion classification:

    Empathetic
    Spiritual
    We’ve determined that your headline appeals equally to people’s empathetic and spiritual spheres.
    Copy containing empathetic impact words are best used to attune with people and businesses involved with care-giving. For example, nurses, doctors, and counselors all tend to respond easily and favorably to Empathetic words. Women, and especially mothers, are very strong in their use of Empathetic impact words in the language. While use of Empathetic impact words does not have to be limited to these groups, we’ve found that by selecting m ore words with Empathetic impact delivers desirable conversion responses from those types of market segments.
    Words with Spiritual impact are best used with people and businesses desiring to make an appeal to some aspect of spirituality. This does not mean religion specifically, but any product or service that resonates with “spirituality” oriented markets are appropriate. The clergy, new age, health food and related markets all respond favorably to sales copy heavy with Spiritual impact content. Women and children also respond strongly to words in the Spiritual sphere. Marketing documents with strong Spiritual impact content can make for the most powerful presentations in the marketplac,e but must be used with considerable skill.

    • Audrey, I think your headline deserves a higher score! Who says that orazapam and vodka are NOT emotional words! I guess it depends who you are marketing to. 😉

  2. I don’t ever use Facebook for personal status updates though I probably should. I took one of my past blog post headlines and played around with it. Social Media VS Social Anxiety, I scored a 68%. After playing around and googling “powerful emotional words” I came up with “A Behind the Scenes look at Social Media vs Anxiety” and got 80%
    I kept playing around, determined to get at least an 85% but I couldn’t. And the more I tried the more frustrated I got. My power words had less value if I added more common words, my emotional words had less value if i added more power words etc. SO FRUSTRATING. But it’s certainly a great tool and I’m glad you shared it!

    • 80% s awesome! You beat me!!!! I found the same issue when I tried to follow their advice — I was damned if I did and damned if I didn’t!

  3. This is a really great resource! Thank you for sharing it. When I was finishing up my recent post “How Black Cats Won My Heart” I used the Headline Analyzer and took my score from 10% with my rough name up to 65%. I still have a ways to go, but I’m sure I will use this site as I work to improve my headline writing skills.

    • Glad you found it fun and useful, Cecily! I think it is a great learning resource but as I said before, ultimately, you are the one who decides on the headline.

  4. Fun post. Thanks Pamela. I tried a few headline without reading any tips for improvement. My first and best score was “Soup’s finally made. Looks hearty. Can’t find my cat. for a not-so-impressive 55. I have bookmarked the site as well as the others in your post and will be doing some reading.

    • LOL I love the disconnect between the soup and the cat! I wonder if the algorithm caught the disconnect or if it was just the words that gave you the mark.

Leave a Reply

