Sawing Logs….

Ever fallen asleep at your desk or felt yourself nodding off on the highway? Is hitting the snooze button five times and drinking your weight in coffee still not enough to prop you up through your day? There are many reasons why we are not getting enough sleep, but one good reason could be lying in bed right next to you: a snoring spouse.

What do you do if you find yourself sharing a bed or a room with someone who snores? A study showed that partners of millions of snorers are kept awake for two hours each night, which equates to two years’ lost sleep over the course of an average marriage!

  • White noise is a type of neutral sound which covers all wavelengths. This can dim our perception of sounds like snoring, making it easier to sleep with the noise
  • A fan can work as well if you put it next to the bed and turn it on. Many people find that the noise made by a fan is effective in drowning out snoring
  • Earplugs are a classic but some say it’s not an effective option. Custom shaped earplugs can be more comfortable than store bought and many audiologists provide this service
  • There are many over-the-counter medications that you can take to knock you out when the time comes to battle your companion’s snoring. Do this only as a last resort, as your body quickly develops a tolerance.
  • Any partner who is disrupting the sleep of another should consider seeking some type of sleep therapy solution.
  • Maybe sleeping in another position may be the answer
  • Many partners of snorers find they sleep much better in a separate room. While some worry about a loss of intimacy from sleeping separately, many people find that they are able to be more intimate because they are less tired, and less grumpy from being kept up all night.

I have read up on this issue for the reason my husband actually is told he is the worse snorer around! We continue to struggle with a way to help him sleep better but only to find now that he does not sleep well because he is worried about me. Do you have any suggestions or experience that could help?

http://www.wikihow.com/Sleep-when-Someone-Is-Snoring

8 thoughts on “Sawing Logs….

  1. This probably won’t be too helpful but my ex boyfriend snored and I made sure I always fell asleep before him so it wouldn’t keep me awake. If I woke up in the middle of the night to his snoring I would just kick him awake and then try to fall asleep before he started snoring again. Not the most productive of methods but it worked well enough.

  2. Thank you for your reply! I too try to get to bed early..and hit him a lot. I hear from many others while I complain to just kick him out lol. I do believe it may be the most productive of these methods as well. Cheers.

  3. One thing to consider is the possibility that he may have a condition called sleep apnea. There’s a sleep lab at the Queensway Carleton Hospital and they do sleep tests to see if you need a breathing apparatus to wear at night…Not sure how old he is but the condition gets worse as men get older. I ordered something called a Snore Mender and it actually seems to work. It’s a mouth guard that’s shipped from the UK and displaces the jaw to increase airflow. I’ve ordered a couple of different types from other manufacturers, but none of them seem to work as well. Best of luck!

  4. I used to pinch his nose. And then I kicked him out of the bed. And the marriage. πŸ˜‰

    One day, the kids recorded us sleeping. They were in stitches, pointing out the choreographed snoring from both of us. I have no idea who he was sleeping with, but there is no way that was ME in the duet!

  5. If someone’s snoring is that bothersome, odds are it’s causing physical problems for them as well. I agree with Mike Wetmore that your hubby could have sleep apnea. It’s quite common for men and women (I have it) and quite treatable. I swore up and down that I didn’t snore and certainly didn’t have a problem with apnea (waking up during sleep because oxygen levels to the brain are getting dangerously low due to compressed or blocked airways). Well, a simple, free overnight test showed that indeed I did have severe apnea. Now a year later, I use my sleep apnea machine faithfully. I feel great. I don’t snore. Nobody gets hurt. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for your recommendations. I have made my husband an appointment to look into this. I also was told that OHIP covers half the funding which is wonderful. Enjoy your sleep!

Leave a Reply

