Living The Moment, Not The Past Or The Future

Living in the moment is not always easy. Sometimes our thoughts are overwhelmed by regrets about past events or anxiety about the future, which can make it hard to enjoy the present. If you are having a hard time living in the moment, there are some simple strategies that may help. There are little things that you can do throughout your day, such as creating a mindfulness cue, learning to meditate, and performing random acts of kindness.

Always be grateful for what you have. Being grateful for what’s in your life doesn’t mean you can’t reach for the stars or your dreams, but don’t overlook the blessings that are already there, and they are there. You might be feeling, “What do I have to be grateful for?”, and believe me, there was a period of time in my life where I struggled with this myself.
I allowed other people and situations to take over my life; I didn’t value myself or the light that was within and surrounding me, I could only see the darkness that seemed to be surronding me.

What I thought would be a dream come true turned out to be some pretty rough times, and once I made my way through I was able to truly appreciate all I had to let go of and still had in my life.
It wasn’t the things I owned, nor the things I believed were important, that I appreciated, although I was grateful for what I had left. What became clear to me were the everyday things I took for granted, overlooked, underestimated, under-appreciated, or minimized.
I always appreciated and loved my family and friends but I never knew the magnitude of my feelings towards them and from them, and the love and support that surrounded me.

In life we don’t appreciate the things that are in front of us until we lose them. When you appreciate all that you have, life becomes more alive, vibrant, and expanded.
Blessings are in your life everyday. Even if you temporarily lose sight of them, they are there waiting for you to embrace them.

Everyday ask yourself what you appreciate in life? If you don’t already, begin today to write down what you are grateful for.
Appreciate the good that already exists in your life and anticipate the miracles and magic that is to come.

Seven tips below to start living your life in the present:

1 Remove unneeded possessions
2 Smile
3 Fully appreciate the moments of today
4 Forgive past hurts
5 Love your job
6 Don’t dwell on past accomplishments
7 Stop worrying
Why living in the present will change your life.

If you’re not living in the present, you’re living in illusion. That seems to a be a pretty good reason to live in the present, doesn’t it? But how often are we worrying about things that have yet to come, how often do we beat ourselves up for mistakes that we’ve made, no matter how much time has passed? The answer is too much. Not only will living in the present have a dramatic effect on your emotional well-being, but it can also impact your physical health. It’s long been known that the amount of mental stress you carry can have a detrimental impact on your health. If you’re living in the present, you’re living in acceptance. You’re accepting life as it is now, not as how you wish it would have been. When you’re living in acceptance, you realize everything is complete as it is. You can forgive yourself for the mistakes you’ve made, and you can have peace in your heart knowing that everything that should happen will.

“If you worry about what might be, and wonder what might have been, you will ignore what is.”

Leave a Reply

