Build My Brand Assignment

#1 My area of specialization is social media. For those who don’t really understand, I would explain it as a computer network where people can connect with each other and message back and forth. Furthermore, there’s also ways that you can video chat and see each other’s faces. In the meantime, I’m really good at helping describe how to use it to non-frequent users or people who grew up in an older generation who have trouble understanding. I believe that I have a special talent for it. Ever since I was younger, I have always been intrigued by it. I got into social media because I was intrigued by it and it really became an interest of mine. I always like tweeting about the Toronto Maple Leafs especially because over the last couple of years, I have built a fan base and I almost have 9 000 followers now.

#2. I feel like I can contribute and will stand out because I have an amazing understanding of how social media works and an incredible way of knowing how to coach others in the mechanics of it. I have created many accounts. For example, I did a co-op placement last spring at Johnny K Sports where I helped him run the Facebook account, Twitter and Instagram accounts. In doing so, I gained an interest in starting up a couple of more accounts. I usually go on Twitter at least 10 times a day. I have used many apps/websites to help grow my pages, without the need for buying any followers. I also use a few websites to help shoutout my account. For those who don’t know what it means, a shoutout is when one account posts a tweet or sends a message telling people to follow a certain account. I have a few accounts that I go on and shoutout my Leafs account on it. In addition, I have been doing promotion giveaways once in awhile to get fans involved. This also helps the account gain more followers. These efforts have led to the official Leafs account following me. I banter back and forth with their Twitter person. In saying this, that has helped me gain more of an interest in becoming a Community Manager or Sports updater for teams or even businesses that are in need of someone to help them.

#3. There are several communities in my area that I would join if I had the opportunity to run the Twitter account for the Toronto Maple Leafs of the NHL. I would do this in a heart beat because I am a huge fan of their team and I have been since I was young. I have had the opportunity to go to a few of their games and have some connection with former players. An alternate sports team that I would be interested in helping out would be the London Knights because there are connections of former players and management from the Knights and the Maple Leafs. In fact, the Leafs have some other players on that team that they have recently drafted. Interestingly enough, there’s a kid from my hometown that just recently got signed to the Knights this season. This is huge for my hometown because we have only had a couple of players make it that far in recent memory. For all these reasons, this gives me an interest in that organization.

#4. These communities will help build my brand because being a Leafs fan and already having a fan account for the team, it shows that I already have an interest and that I am knowledgeable about the team’s organization. I would be able to contribute a lot if given the opportunity to help because I know how to properly interact with fans. Since I am experienced in photo editing, this would be another asset that I could offer. I have opted to take this course in the hope that it will provide me with more experience and opportunities to practice typing blogs. This would provide me with the experience that I know is needed by the people who run the accounts. There is a need to blog especially during the game when the team is playing or once they have finished a game. I feel like I can bring a lot to the table when it comes to running accounts.

Leave a Reply

