Rock On, Social Media! Rock On!

“If heavy metal bands ruled the world, we’d be a lot better off.”

 – Bruce Dickinson

Disturbed is coming to Ottawa Wednesday and I am beyond excited!! I love the band and have seen them live years ago, but with the constant grind and routine I figured it’s time for me to have a little fun!

I was reading up on the band’s history last night and as I was doing so, I noticed that they rely heavily on social media to reach out to their fans. After the band’s 5 year hiatus, they resorted to subtle, mysterious hints that they would reunite the band and produce more music…

“Return from hiatus and Immortalized (2015–present)
On June 20, 2015, on Disturbed’s Facebook page and website, there was material posted hinting at a possible return of the band. The website shows a new Disturbed logo, plus a video of the band’s mascot “The Guy” appearing to be on life support, still breathing.[60] The new Disturbed logo was also posted to their official Facebook page, along with the video of their mascot, and their profile picture changed to solid black, indicating new activity within the band.[61] On June 22, 2015, Disturbed posted another video on Facebook, this time showing The Guy awakening from life support, as well as an 18-hour countdown on their official website, giving speculation to a definite reunion. On June 23, 2015, Disturbed officially announced the end of their hiatus and the coming of their new album entitled Immortalized. On the same day, the official music video for the new single “The Vengeful One” was released on their YouTube channel.[62] Immortalized was released on August 21, 2015. For currently unknown reasons, John Moyer did not perform on the album, with all bass tracks being performed by Dan Donegan. Moyer is not in the band’s video for “The Sound Of Silence” released in December 2015. However, Moyer remains a band member, having appeared in promotional photography for the album as well as continuing to perform live with the band.
On the album’s release day, the band played their first show in four years at the House of Blues in Chicago. The show featured the live debuts of four new songs (“The Vengeful One”, “What Are You Waiting For”, “The Light” and the title-track) and the song “Hell”, a b-side from Ten Thousand Fists in its entirety for the first time.[63]”

– Wikipedia
In fact, a lot of musicians and public figures do so these days. I find it quite interesting how social media, like Twitter, Instagram and Facebook, have essentially brought celebrities closer to their adoring fans. Don’t get me wrong, I still remember writing letters to bands (yes, I am that much of a nerd) and freaking out with joy over getting a response, even though it was clearly mass produced. But these days, you can essentially interact with celebrities online! How cool is that!? Have any of you reached out to a personal favourite via Social Media? Get any responses? Do any of you think that this accessibility to celebrities is a positive thing (of course when you think of the dreaded Kardashians, maybe not lol)? Does it diminish the uniqueness of celebrity to fan relations? I would to love hear your opinions! In the meantime, rock on, disturbed ones 😉

#Disturbed #heavymetal #socialmedia #RockOn #Immortalized

2 thoughts on “Rock On, Social Media! Rock On!

  1. Ha! I can feel your enthusiasm through the computer and I love it. It is true that social media makes celebs so much more real and accessible. It’s kind of a double-edge sword. There was a time when the media (journalists) agreed to leave some things sacrosanct and celebs had a true mystique and cache. Life was more innocent perhaps then. Or maybe I’m just old an nostalgic. 🙂 I have personally written to Richard Dawkins and have been severely vexed that he has never responded. I cut him slack when I heard he had had a stroke. Nowadays I use socially media predominantly to speak my piece to corporations and politicians. I’m quite sure I’m not popular though I always call out great things I see and say thank you too.

    • I agree that it can be a double edged sword….I love the accessibility but miss that mystique that celebs used to have before being all over the internet.

Leave a Reply

