COM0015 Assignment 5 “Event Participation”

Recently I attended a virtual career fair. “The Success Spotlight” was offered by the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA). The CRA prides itself on being one of Canada’s top 100 employers because it offers:

  • meaningful career opportunities
  • room for advancement
  • work-life balance
  • career opportunities across Canada.

I chose to attend this event for several reasons; first, to satisfy my course requirement. Second, I am an instructor in the School of Business at College of the North Atlantic and wondered if this event would be relevant to my students. Since the CRA is hosting this event several times over a two weeks, I can recommend that my students attend one of the sessions.  Last, because I teach online I enjoy exploring different tools such as a live event.

Here’s a screen capture of me attending the event which was hosted by two CRA employees:

webinar-screen-capture

CRA Career Fair October 2016

I was disappointed that I could not see a complete list of attendees.  It felt like I was the only one attending, because I could only see my name. It wasn’t until the question and answer session at the end that I realized others were there.  Feeling I was alone in the session, I didn’t ask questions until the end.  I became more interactive with both the hosts and building on some of the questions that other participants asked in the Q and A.

My questions:

  1. Why the need for a virtual job fair as opposed to a traditional job fair and do you offer both formats?
  2. In your pool of applicants, do you feel there are key elements missing; i.e. communication skills? hard skills?
  3. How does the CRA use social media in recruiting; specifically, LinkedIn?

I like the idea of using a virtual career fair.  I like that it’s real time. However, it is still two talking heads. Without seeing a list of candidates,  it made for an awkward setting. The slides could be more dynamic. There could be polls and other ways to engage the audience.

Yes, I will definitely attend a similar event. I am registered for a blended learning webinar session from the Online Learning Consortium on October 5.

 

There are still more sessions offered throughout October, if you are interested in attending, click here CRA Career Fair Registration

2 thoughts on “COM0015 Assignment 5 “Event Participation”

  1. I think this is a good idea to get basic information out there. I would find it hard to interview from it or apply because of it though. No matter how virtual we get, I want to talk to people face to face, ask questions, see reactions etc. I participate in webinars, but I find sitting by myself watching and listening less effective than being able to talk to people, hear examples etc. Balancing both would be a real cue for employers.

  2. I actually had no idea that virtual career fairs existed, that’s actually very cool. What I would find most difficult as an employer looking for potential candidates is the lack of physical interaction. Perhaps I am a little old school but I am a firm believer that a person’s hand shake tells a lot about them. Did the webinar/career fair utilize your web cam or was it a one way view? We’re you able to speak with the other candidates or just the facilitators?

Leave a Reply

