Adopt or Rescue?

Adopt or Rescue? By Kelly Rintoul

Are you thinking of welcoming a new dog as a family member? If so, one of the first decisions to make is whether you’d like to adopt a puppy or rescue an older dog.

There really is nothing quite as adorable and exciting as welcoming a puppy. Cute, cuddly and full of affection, many people fall in love at first site. If you adopt a puppy, expect to spend a lot of time with them during their first year of life. You’ll need to care for their every need, teach them how to behave and show them where to spend their time. It is sad to hear of people not wanting to keep the dog after it is no longer a puppy and in that cuddly stage.

Have you thought of rescuing an adult dog? This can also be a delight, too. If you adopt an adult dog, you’ll skip the awkward and destructive puppy developmental stages, like teething and potty training. Depending on their history and whether they’ve been trained, you may not need to send them to basic obedience class or housetrain them. Sometimes it may be hard to retrain an adult dog, as well as have to deal with history of a possible abuse or miss treated dog. Having young children, I would not want to take any chances. I would have to choose a dog that had no past abuse or issues unfortunately.

Both decisions are a major commitment and you really need to give it 100% of your time and attention. I have heard many people have pro’s and con’s of both discussions. Myself, I would certainly fall in love with an adult dog if it was well trained but having a puppy and teaching and training it would be my first discussion. I understand there are a lot of dogs out there that need homes. I do believe people should be more responsible by getting their dogs fixed to avoid unexpected pregnancies.

 

3 thoughts on “Adopt or Rescue?

  1. This is a discussion I’ve been a part of more than a few times. My parents have always gotten puppies from a breeder while some close friends are strongly in favor of rescues. I definitely think that if you’re going the adoption route, that it’s worth the time/effort to properly vet the person/place you’re buying from to make sure that the animals are being treated well. Beyond that, definitely a person to person choice as they’re the one making (hopefully) a life time commitment to the animal.

    That said, on top of ensuring to spay/neuter pets, I do wish more people would consider the entire pet ownership experience before buying. The puppy stage is enticing for many, but it’s sad to see how many fall out of love once the puppy is now a dog or they end up surprised (somehow) at how big the dog gets.

    You raise many great points and no matter what the decision, making sure it’s one not just for the next year or two, but for the long haul is very important. Have you had pets in the past/currently? Which way have you gone if so?

    • I have always chosen pups so I can train them but recently I adopted a four year old lab and although it took a lot of work, she certainly adapted to our life style. Luckily she was raised in a great home and they just found it hard with a young baby and did not have the time. I have heard others comment about abused dogs and how hard it was since they wanted to bite and were afraid of large men. If I could handle it I’d have a rescue farm and I would dedicate my time to dogs…unfortunately I have to work but this would be my retirement plan. I am a crazy dog lady!

    • I would rather the puppy stage because I like to train. I have raised 6 labs within the last 15 years. I currently have 4 and would have more if I could. Thanks for your reply!

Leave a Reply

