It Can Pay to Be Picky

After reviewing all of the various medium listed in Lesson Two it is easy to see how a person can be quickly overcome and filled with anxiety. How can someone possibly apply all of these tools to their business? The short answer is that they can’t, or more aptly, they shouldn’t. While one major advantage that social media has over mass marketing is that the new kid on the block can help you to target your specific market and potential clients, but not all forms of social media will work for everyone or every situation. That is why I am suggesting that it can pay to be picky.

Before you can even begin to determine what social media strategy may be best suited to your circumstances you must get to know your business and your potential client base well. If you are attempting to service a particular niche, as I am, then you need to know where to find those people online. In my case, I am seeking out an older group that is either very close to retirement or recently got there. This may not be the LinkedIn crowd. Don’t get me wrong. I intend to be on LinkedIn but I don’t expect to focus on it. While I am still doing research I think my demographic is more likely to be found on Facebook. I think that when the time is right I am going to have to develop a focused social media strategy that will employ some of the tools that are out there but certainly not all of them. Will I get it right the first time? Probably not but that is okay, I need to get out there and try and it will take some tweaking to get it right. Even then, my strategy is going to have to be evergreen because it will evolve along with my customers and while I don’t ever envision the majority of them to be at the cutting edge of the next big thing I should be able to watch them progress at a safe speed behind younger people.

Actually, I am thinking of using a hybrid marketing solution that could be unique, or nearly so, to my situation. I am hoping to provide retirement planning products (non-financial) to those that are near retirement or have recently arrived there. This would be the tail end of the baby boomer generation and while we (yes I am one of them) struggle to adapt to the new technologies and social media we still cling tightly and proudly onto the old ways. Yes, it is true. I subscribe to cable television, I still watch the National News and I get the newspaper delivered to my door and I realize that these quaint antiquated ways will soon be but a memory. But I am becoming convinced that there is an opportunity for me to cross over from mass marketing to social media on a minor but important scale. I am actually thinking about using classified ads. Stop laughing, I mean it! :). For those of you that don’t know what classified ads are I should point out that it they have nothing to do with Julian Assange or Eric Snowden. Think of it as Craigslist on paper.

I spent a good part of my day today asking friends if they read the paper thoroughly and if they hit the classified ads. I was surprised by the number that do. I usually just check the obituaries to ensure my picture isn’t there but the classified ads are more active then I could have ever imaged. I expect that those that still place classified ads are not familiar with Kijiji or just feel more comfortable in print. I am trying to decided if I should try a classified ad that reads “If this problem concerns you (insert retirement issue here) then the answer can be found at www….. It might be a fun experiment to see what kind of result I get.

Yes, my demographic is on Facebook but we are the last of the mass media generation as well. We will never adapt to snapchat because the snap will be gone before we can find our eyeglasses!

Question: Will mass marketing still have a place in society in twenty years?

 

 

3 thoughts on “It Can Pay to Be Picky

  1. I would hazard a guess that mass marketing, particularly through newspapers, will be possible, but not as effective as marketing through the Net. I am constantly amazed by the ads that seem to have been selected just for me on any site I go to. Also, I would be curious to see how many people in our age bracket focus more on print media than online media. It may be my own circle, but I only know of a few people who are not cyberly connected.

    • Thanks Pamela. I know quite a few that are not cyberly connected. I have an older brother that just laughed when I asked him if he used online banking! Maybe he likes standing in line…..

      • On the other end of the spectrum, several years ago, my mother asked my sister and I why the heck we were still paying our bills by cheque. She introduced US to online banking. Until last year, she went to a computer club in her building so that she would not fall too far behind. When her great grand-daughter was born in England, Mum mastered Skype so that she could talk to the baby several times a week. When the little girl was two, she came to Canada, got out of the taxi, took her great grandma’s hand, and went up to the condo without her parents — because she had a relationship with her!

        When the little girl’s father was her age, his parents were stationed in Europe for four years. My mother used snail mail and mini cassette recordings to stay connected with the grandkids.

        She has Alzheimer’s now and doesn’t know how to turn on Skype. However, when I am there, I turn it on for her so she can go see which descendant is online. Then, she asks me to get her mail — which she is still able to answer without help.

        Her friends in their 90s are very active on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

