“Droning” in Paperwork

I had no idea of what I was thinking when I told my son that I would help him with getting his drone licence.  You see, he’s been so very busy with his new business that, (and being such a great mom), I would elevate some of his stress by getting some boring paperwork out of his way.  What in the world was I thinking!  I should have said “Hey, buddy you know that big box of receipts you been hoarding for income tax time, I’ll sort it all out for you.  Really it’ll be a breeze”.  Yup that would have been easier than  THIS!

As the quote goes, a promise is a promise, and a mother’s word is her bond (or something like that).  So here starts my Drone journey into the nebulousdrne-camer aeronautics world. Aeronautics (from the ancient Greek words ὰήρ āēr, which means “air”, and ναυτική nautikē which means “navigation”, i.e. “navigation into the air”)  (definition found https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aeronautics)

My first stop: Transport Canada

Link to steps to acquire a  licence: https://www.tc.gc.ca/eng/civilaviation/opssvs/getting-permission-fly-drone.html#sfoc

Bedtime reading: 

  • Review and Processing of an Application for a Special Flight Operations Certificate for the Operation of an Unmanned Air Vehicle (UAV) System (UAV = drones)

Link to reading: https://www.tc.gc.ca/eng/civilaviation/standards/general-recavi-uav-4161.html

Power is gained by sharing knowledge, not be hoarding it.  So here’s to collaboration – getting  organized to capitalize in this emerging technology.

Leave a Reply

