Shay C Blog #1 Sept 18th, 2016.

Hello, I would like to introduce myself, I’m Shay Chittick and I am 18 years old. I love social media, and I hope you are all enjoying this course so far. I know I am. The blog that I’m posting about is my daily routine and how social media interests me. I would like to discuss some of the things that I really like about social media, and the ways that I think it impacts people’s lives.

To begin, I have had a daily routine for the past couple of years. It has become easier for me to follow since I have graduated high school in June. I now find that I have more free time. Although I am working part-time, I take time to relax as much as I can. My daily routine consists of: waking up, brushing my teeth, eating my breakfast, and checking my Facebook and Twitter accounts. After that, I usually organize my room and clean up in the kitchen and tidy around the house as well. Thankfully, most days I don’t have to work until later or somedays, not at all. Once everything looks clean and tidy, I will usually sit down for a bit and go on Twitter and Facebook again. During most afternoons, I usually write down notes on ways to make the accounts better whether that means a new avi/cover photo or something as simple as updating the bio (also known as details of what the account is about). The way that I look at it, there is always a way to make the account(s) better every single day because things are constantly changing.

Since I believe that I have OCD, I find myself having to change my avi, and cover photo at least twice a year if not three. Furthermore, it shows the customers, fans, and followers that you’re active and will reply fast to ensure that they are satisfied with what is taking place throughout the community.

Beginning when I was young, I carried an interest in Weather and a desire to promote accounts on Twitter and Facebook. During that time, I started up a few promotion accounts that I still use in my spare time (@FollowGainBRUH) & (@LeafsFansUnited). With these accounts, I follow fans and tweet live updates during games.

I’d also like to mention that a couple of years ago when there were Tornado Warning’s/Watches for my hometown and places close by, it dawned on me that most people don’t know what to do in a situation such as this so, I decided to create a couple of Weather pages on Facebook and Twitter. This provided hometown residents to remain informed about current conditions. (@HanoverTornado/@HanoverBlizzard). I couldn’t believe how fast the pages grew. Within the first week, I had over 250 likes on both pages! The number of followers has increased with the help of followers who by sharing with friends and family have increased its popularity. The pages continue to grow, and now, there are approximately 1,500 people who follow both. Given that we live in a small town, it is truly remarkable.

In addition, I also started a Leafs Fans United account in 2013. I started it off all by myself and eventually once it hit 500 followers, it became too much work for one person. I began searching for someone who I followed that was really good at tweeting and who could assist me. Eventually, I found a person named Nick who seemed capable of doing this. I messaged him asking if he would like to help with the page. He replied, “I’d love too”. I was able to talk to him on Skype and we became good friends after that. Since then, the account has increased the number of followers to 9,000. In addition, 4 more people have begun to help with the account.

In closing, I’m really looking forward to learning more about social media in this course. Perhaps I could see myself doing this as a career in the near future. This is why I’m extremely happy to be enrolled in the course at Algonquin College.

One thought on “Shay C Blog #1 Sept 18th, 2016.

Leave a Reply

