COM0014 – Blog #2: Storytelling and Communication Styles

The biggest lesson I learned this week is why I write. I also learned that I have to think about my audience a lot more. When I write, I mostly do it with the intention of sharing a story with people. It stops there. That simple.

img_20151011_104327
However, reading about the different depths of a reader, about how to start with what is most important, about making sure your goal is clearly stated in every blog post, it made me wonder why I was writing. All I want to do with people when I write is to connect. I want to share a story about what happened in my daily life or what popped up in my imagination and have them share theirs in exchange. I write to tell stories.

 

 

I realized that I often felt like blogging wasn’t for me because I didn’t want to review new products, make bullet lists, create polls, read articles and update, update, and update even more. All I wanted was to write stories about what happened in my head on a regular basis. Keep it simple. And for some reason, I thought that meant I didn’t have it in me to be a blogger.
 

However, I now know that there are different kinds of bloggers with different communication styles. What I will work on after reading this lesson is making sure I organize my paragraphs well with the essential information at the beginning, knowing what I want my reader to do for each blog post, and keeping my writing simple.

Leave a Reply

