COM0014 Blog Post #1 – What I Did On My Summer Vacation

img_5163 Ah, where did the summer go?!

I feel like it was just yesterday that I was digging my summer clothes and shoes out of storage and swapping out my winter gear. Now, here we are, it’s September.

I live in Northern Ontario so there are basically only two seasons: winter and construction.

Winter lasts anywhere from late October to mid May. I can remember years where we had snow storms on Halloween and Mother’s Day. However, perhaps with the rise of global warming (which is in fact a terrible issue, I might add) the past two summers in Sault Ste. Marie have been fantastic. We had another beautiful summer where it was almost 30 degrees + every weekend, which is why I am really not looking forward to another long, cold winter in the Sault.

Unfortunately for me, I do not have any vacation time with my current job, so I had to make the most of all of the weekends throughout the summer.

This past Labour Day, I decided that since it is technically the last weekend of the summer, I was going to take off to my parents house for the entire weekend and have a “stay-cation” aka my version of a vacation.

Luckily for me, my parents have a beautiful home at Sunnyside Beach on Lake Superior. For those that aren’t familiar, Lake Superior is the largest of the Great Lakes and in my opinion, the nicest.

So, for Labour Day, I spent the entire weekend outside and on the water. The weather was gorgeous with temperatures in the 30’s each day. I stayed from Friday until Monday and had a blast jet skiing, kayaking, swimming, having bonfires and s’mores, and most of all being with my family and friends. My parents house is only about a 25 minute drive from my house, but it still felt great to escape the city and spend time on the lake for the weekend. I didn’t want it to end! It was tough going back to work on that Tuesday after the long weekend, but I felt rejuvenated and relaxed knowing that I spent my weekend doing exactly what I wanted to do and how I wanted to end my summer.

That, in a nutshell, is my idea of the perfect vacation. What is your idea of the perfect vacation?

To top it off, this summer, I also got to go to Detroit, Michigan, to see one of my favorite artists BEYONCE perform in concert. Let me just tell you, it was the best concert I have ever been to. I was also able to go to London, Ontario for Canada Day weekend to a country music festival called Trackside Music Festival, which was also fabulous. The rest of my summer vacation was spent hanging out with friends, exploring the outdoors and golfing – more of my favorite activities!

All in all, I had an awesome summer, and I hope you did too! I am already looking forward to next year! And hope that winter stays away… until December at least.

Leave a Reply

