COM0014 – Blog #2 – The power of storytelling 

The most important part of communication and storytelling is listening. That may seem like an odd concept for some but you need to be able to listen to what your audience needs before you are able to communicate with them. It is important to know if your audience would prefer to watch a video on the topic, or read an article about it. Everyone communicates differently and the audience will be more engaged with your story if they are engaged with the way the story is being told. 

In order for a story to be powerful, it needs to be communicated effectively. A great story needs to encourage the audience to interact with the content, especially if there is a lesson to be learned or a takeaway to be had. The story also needs to be clear and concise to get the point across with some detail, but avoiding going into too much detail that you will loose your audience. 

I also think a really important aspect of communication and storytelling is to inspire your audience to action. Whether this action be posed in the form of a question to debate on a topic, or encourages them to participate in the conversation, it is always good to engage your audience this way.

What communication styles are important to you? How do you engage your audience through storytelling?

2 thoughts on “COM0014 – Blog #2 – The power of storytelling 

  1. I guess I engage with my audience through empathy. I make sure I write as honest as possible and always share something personal, so that there is ground for connection. No one wants to read about a perfect know-it-all. I share my victories, but also my failures. I guess that making sure I stay human is the best way I engage with my audience.

  2. I agree that story telling is an art and that it is key to getting many messages across. I find that personal antidotes make the story come alive and also make it personal as well as creates a context for the information you are trying to disseminate. Being prepared and knowing your audience are also key. I find that tailoring your presentation to your audience whenever possible makes the story telling more meaningful to them. Sometimes you know people in your audience and with their permission you can call on them for input in your discussion so it does not look like you have all the information. Visuals are important for impromptu clues as well as entertainment value for your audience. With the rise in using more visuals and less content in social media, story telling is not just for listening anymore… more like listening with your eyes.

Leave a Reply

