COM0014 – Blog Post #6: Do People Know Your Story?

What is your greatest achievement?

For almost my entire life, it seems, I’ve struggled with identifying exactly what I want to do in the future. Breezing through primary and secondary school with a tendency to do well in most disciplines, I wasn’t too sure where to go from there. My mother is a teacher and her father a professor, so I thought I could probably teach since volunteering at my mother’s school had of course been fun in the past.

Then university came, and majoring in English seemed like the predestined choice, a seemingly perfect match for the girl who loved to read and had a knack for creative writing. And although I enjoyed the people I met and the learning taking place, there was an aspect of excitement missing. I knew I could handle the road I was headed down; after all, it was in my blood. After convocation, began the months of limbo; I was neither inclined to work on my MA in English nor get my teaching certification.

Insert Google, my holy grail and information database. After pages (you know you’re getting desperate when you’ve past page 14) of links related to jobs for my degree, I found a tiny source of light buried under piles of uselessness. It was in that moment that I first felt excitement about public relations and all of the possible opportunities. Through my inability to settle, I found something that I could see myself doing for a long time. I think that this resilience is my greatest personal achievement, as it changed my whole direction and perspective on life from a simple state of being, to something with a greater purpose.

2 thoughts on “COM0014 – Blog Post #6: Do People Know Your Story?

  1. We all need to find our sense of purpose. It’s what make us feel inspired and motivated, and makes our life more fulfilling. And it often changes throughout the years. I’m glad you have found yours!

Leave a Reply

