COM0011 Blog #1: The Grey Area

For the last four or five days I have been trying to find something interesting to write about that someone else might possibly want to read, just staring at the blank page in my brain. Or even write something longer than the 140 characters that Twitter expects you to cram your life into.

blankpage

It’s not like I don’t want to write something, but I have been told my entire childhood life that I need to “cut out all the extra garbage and explanation and just get to the point”. So that is what I learned to do…not realizing I would be getting into marketing where I need all that grey area and explanation.

In my first semester of marketing my professor asked a question that I answered with a quick, short answer. She then asked me to elaborate and I didn’t know how to reply. She wanted the when, why, where, what, how, and the kitchen sink.

So here I am this lovely Monday morning reading about writing blog posts and finally getting this done. I am seriously hoping that expanding my writing and making it “flowery” again isn’t going to be as hard as it was to teach myself to be concise.

If you have any helpful hints on how I can expand my thoughts on paper, I  am happy to listen!

So until next time…peace out homies!

5 thoughts on “COM0011 Blog #1: The Grey Area

  1. Thank you for your honesty! I have a similar feeling but of opposite results. I sit down and I can’t seem to focus on one thing. I keep thinking it has to be meaningful and researched. Then I start on one subject that made me click on another and another and another. Next thing you know, I am covering multiple different topics, in which I ask multiple questions, and have multiple sources. I find it hard to find the middle ground. I have a blank page or I start writing a novel. Hopefully, like you, I will learn to find ways to channel my ideas and focus what I have to say.

    • I wish I had that problem. Then I would have so much material for this course ha ha. That’s how my thoughts are when I’m having a conversation. I only wish I could translate it to paper. I’m sure you’ll figure out a way to channel all that amazing content floating in your head!

  2. This is so accurate, and blogging has allowed individuals to pick up their own ‘Style’ if you will. Social media has given us the freedom to essentially do things on our own terms, but there is always that 10th grade English teacher, or marketing professor lurking over one shoulder, making you wonder if you are veering to far off of the beaten path.

    • The one thing that I am loving about the blogging world is it doesn’t have to be so essay proper. It tells a story and like you said someones own unique style.

  3. Can we talk. This is so true, i have spent the last week wrecking my brain out as to what to blog. This blank screen in front of me saying … oh you clever boy … you can do it. I go to type and nothing wants to flow, now if ask me about graphic design or info graphics i could tell you stories. The challenge is to focus and write about subject matter that resonates with you. That i have found out that is easier said than done.

Leave a Reply

