COM0014 – Blog #3: Fashion Online

I have had an interest in fashion for as long as I can remember. Treats when I was a kid included the latest issue of Teen Vogue or Seventeen magazine. Now, as a young adult, instead of collecting pages of photo shoots on my wall, I have Twitter, Facebook and Pinterest.

On Twitter, I have curated content specifically for fashion and beauty lovers. I post all kinds of articles, from fashion bloggers to mainstream magazines. I think a large part of my audience includes the 18-30 age range of mostly female, middle-class individuals. I also have many followers from the UK (as I will be visiting in the fall).

Twitter is the best way to communicate with my audience. Lists are especially useful for organizing influencers and bloggers. Hashtag chats are another fun aspect of Twitter.

One successful and well-known fashion destination is Who What Wear. This was one of the first fashion content distributors that I followed on Twitter. Another is Oracle Fox by Amanda Shadforth. Lastly, Harper & Harley is a fashion blog that I started obsessing over on Pinterest and quickly followed on other social media platforms.

What do these three examples have in common?

  1. They are all streamlined
    • There are many sites out there that are filled with noise. De-cluttering the format and design of a website pulls everything together and makes for a more enjoyable experience.
  2. They are all monochromatic
    • Just my personal style—but I love greys, whites and varying shades (yes, it’s a colour!) of black.
  3. They are all chic and classy
    • Less is more, in my books. Minimalist style and clean lines really take the cake!

Well, there you have it! Have any of you taken your interests and applied them directly to your personal accounts? Do you separate them across platforms?

Leave a Reply

