COM0014 – Blog 6 – A Glimpse Into My Story

Of course, there are many choices I have made that I regret. Some of those include dating that guy back in college or drinking too much on my 22nd birthday but those things can be chalked up to experience. The choice I regret the most is not participating in more extra curricular activities in college and university.

I have always been considered an out going person but while I was in school I made several excuses in order to convince myself that joining or participating in certain activities would not be the best course of action. My many excuses included:

  • “I can’t dedicate that much time to something because I need that time to do my homework.”
  • “I don’t know anyone and what if no one likes me?”
  • “I won’t be able to contribute as much as they’d like because everyone there is probably smarter than me.”

Let’s be honest…all those excuses were created out of fear and laziness. The time I set aside “to do my homework” was well wasted on Netflix. Around that time I also began exercising at the schools YMCA but did not attend several of the exercise classes I was interested in trying because of the reasons listed above. Those excuses also prevented me from joining several marketing and sales teams that I was strongly encouraged by my professors to join. Thinking back on it, I regret not joining those marketing teams because the experience I would have received is beyond any classroom learning. I would have made a number connections and learn several skills that I could be using at my current employment and proudly display on my resume.

The most important take away is not to dwell on the things that can’t be changed but to learn, grow and overcome those challenges. I now refuse to let fear and laziness stop me from trying something new. I won’t deny that I was nervous to try roller derby or to start regularly volunteering but I am happy I did because they’ve helped shaped who I am today.

“…Life can be lived either way, but for me, I’d rather try and fail, than never try at all…” – William F. O’Brien

Leave a Reply

