New Facebook emojis

I’m sure that on Facebook (those of you who have Facebook) that you have noticed that there were changes to the emojis. This is a step in the right direction. The more ways that people can express themselves and give their feedback, the better.

While there is comment section if people would like to give more sophisticated and detailed feedback, it is important in the fast-paced internet age that there is a less time consuming way to express themselves – in a way as easy as a click. Perhaps it is laziness or slacktivism, but that is just the way things are.

I follow a lot of news pages on Facebook. Whenever there was a horrible tragedy in the news in I always wondered why people pressed like on them. Now I hope that if people see theses stories in the future, they will use the sad or angry emoji.

There will always be room for more emojis. I say good job Facebook – this is a step in the right direction. Now make the dislike emoji with a thumbs down, and I will give a full thumbs up.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “New Facebook emojis

  1. I totally agree that the development of more emojis is good news. I love using emojis and when I had my old phone, Samsung Galaxy S2, my emojis were only showed up as little boxes with x’s in them to all my iPhone using friends. I felt left out that I couldn’t ride this emoji wave that everyone was on, and ever since my upgrade to the S6, I’m a lot happier living in a pretty universal emoji world.
    I agree that having more emojis to choose from when wanting to comment on a post on Facebook is great. I think we’ve all had posts of our friends or of news events, where we wished we could do more than just ‘like’ it. For my work, we use this mobile app called Slack, and they allow you to add whatever reaction you want to anyone’s post within the conversation. I think this is definitely a movement that’s been a long time coming and I’m glad its finally here!

  2. I will start by saying that I also welcome the alternatives to “liking” posts and pictures that have recently been introduced by the Facebook team. This past week alone I had two “Friends” lose loved ones, and it certainly would have been inappropriate for me to acknowledge this occurrence in their lives by simply clicking on the “Like” button. On the other hand, this begs the question that if one of the members of our *social* network on Facebook shares information with us that is anything but purely “likable”, how appropriate is it to respond to them with an emoji rather than our own words?

    Even though I had the option this week to acknowledge my friends’ posts about their respective losses with the new “Sad” emoji, I felt – and maintain – that any undeniably sad information shared with me by my friends warrants at least some level of commentary, if not a private, personalized message. Although the world certainly is fast-paced and most individuals’ time is at a premium, I worry that the shortcuts offered by emojis – as cute and entertaining as they can be – are actually facilitating society’s prioritization of those things that pull us away from opportunities to meaningfully connect with other people. Instead, they are providing us with a means by which to swiftly and superficially engage with our contacts.

    I am curious to see if Facebook eventually offers more emojis to the suite introduced this week, and how the existing range of emotions captured by them could be expanded upon.

Leave a Reply

