500 Followers

I work for Models International Management (MIM) here in Ottawa. This work environment is hugely based around image and branding, not only of our company, but our models within our company. One of my main roles at MIM is to control the social media accounts. Out of all the different kinds of social media out there, the best one we find for our company is Instagram! Multi-Color_Logo_thumbnail200By being able to share photos of our models and jobs that they are doing we are able to promote our business and drive in new clientele. However, what I am finding is that I can’t balance my work Instagram (@mimmodels) and my personal Instagram (@megfuger) accounts. I spend hours a day on MIM’s Instagram account, increasing its followers, promoting it, making sure each picture is getting enough likes, and that our branding is on point. And at the end of every day, I get home and I am exhausted, and I can’t even begin to think about my own personal Instagram account!

I have decided this year of 2016 that I will increase my personal following base! This number may seem low to many people, but I would love to get my followers up to 500! Baby steps folks, baby steps… today 500 tomorrow 1000. Currently I am sitting at a comfortable 420 followers.  My job is to talk to my models about the importance of social media and how it brands you, (for them, they are their own brand), however I do not practice what I preach… So I thought I would share knowledge that I have come across by researching on the internet, and hopefully actually putting these into place in my own accounts:

  1. Make sure your Instagram and Facebook accounts are connected; by doing this you will increase your followers, also make sure your followers know what they can expect by following you.
  2. Like 100’s of random pictures from people in your target audience; the more you like and the more you comment, the higher your chances are of getting more followers. Neil Patel, found that for every 100 photos he liked, he generated 21.7 more likes on his photos, and 6.1 more followers. Also he didn’t have to follow the user back, by also liking photos outside of your general circle of friends, you will increase your outside followers.
  3. Use popular hashtags; Some of the tags that I like, and are trending at the moment are (picked my favourite hashtags from this site):
    1. #love
    2. #instagood
    3. #me
    4. #tbt
    5. #photooftheday
    6. #happy
    7. #selfie
  4. Post at the correct time; Damon Beres shows us that the best time to post is 2am, 5pm and 11pm. Why? Because most Instagram users are on Instagram at that time and are engaged. I believe 2am is important because for me one of the first things I do in the morning when I wake up is check all my social media sites, so of course the person who posted at 2am is in my feed and getting a like or a follow.
  5. Make your post more personal and about your lifestyle; people want to live through everyone else, you know what they say the grass is always greener on the other side. Well I feel that is the same for Instagram, you want to live like everyone else, so I enjoy seeing a meaningful post then anything else.
  6. Edit your account to leave only the best images; probably once a month I go through my Instagram and delete any images that didn’t get many likes, or aren’t true to my personal branding.
  7. Make sure your bio is complete; make sure to use relevant keywords, hashtags, a bit about what they will see in your Instagram account.
  8. Try to post daily; this is important so you don’t lose your followers, that they stay engaged and interested. I find this is hard, but I also notice that my followers will increase for a day, then if I don’t post for two or three days, they stop following me.
  9. Use Geotagging; Geotagging is important, because people want to live through you, if you post a super cool picture of a coffee shop, but don’t let anyone know where it is people will become frustrated and unfollow you. Also when you geotag other people in the same location will see your tag and either like your photo or follow you, if your page interest them.
  10. Engage; be engaging, not only on your account, but on other Instagram users as well, comment on photos, comment back on your own photos, when you comment on someone else’s photo, they will often (or at least I do) click on the person username, see who they are an either follow them back or not, however I always (or I try too) comment back in my own post.

FullSizeRender

I know for many this may seem like such a small little thing, and I often think to myself why do I need more followers? Maybe it my own personal narcissism, that drives me to increase my followers and my likes on my photos. Then I stop and realize, if I am selling myself as being social media savvy, shouldn’t my own social media be #onpoint.

I hope that my tips will help you reach any goal that you may have with your own personal branding! Leave a comment if you have any more tips on how to increase your followers 🙂 

One thought on “500 Followers

  1. Pingback: Quid Pro Quo: for Twitter, the Way to Go? – Algonquin College Social Media Certificate Program

Leave a Reply

