COM0014: Blog Post #2 – Storytelling & Communication Styles

Books

Whose story are you really telling?

This isn’t your grandma’s nighttime reading. At least, not mine. My story is raw, real and colours your thoughts and opinions with language and humour while defining the very nature of living with challenge and perseverance. Writing and blogging about health is a challenge of manipulating story with facts and resources while wrapping the content under an umbrella under which people will want to stand. A challenge of a necessary evil in content creation to determine where my story meets the reader’s expectations to be entertained and educated.

One of the main catchphrases of Lupus Interrupted is, “Life ain’t all about purple painted ponies pooping butterflies jacked up on SugarSmacks.” The reality of how I discovered my story writing abilities and, consequently, my communication style began the very first time my website was declined to be featured on more readily-recognized website due to “the effective use of language that may offend some of our readers.”

Challenge: [Accepted]. I was hooked at that very moment to be the most real “Me.” I could be in my writing. I’d had to look critically at the nature of how I express my thoughts, opinions and my journey itself and compare it to what my readers were wanting when they approached my blog to read as opposed to the plethora of every other health blog and website on the Web 2.0. There are academically sourced, clinical websites. These are not my website, nor do I ever want Lupus Interrupted to become an academically sourced, clinical website. My resonance with my readers and followers is based on my ability to write the authenticity of a journey through autoimmune disease as a woman, a mother and a generally awesome human being thrust in the chaos of the Cosmos of managing the “Everything” in the world.

For those who are familiar with my uber-favourite blog and blogger, “The Bloggess,” you have an idea of where I get my determination to remain true to my own writing and communication style without succumbing to the social stigma of telling a story peppered with language, sarcasm and a rapier wit. Look at the number of comments on her posts and it is a fitting validation of what readers are seeking when they click on any of her content.

I have found the requirement, however, to maintain a balance between posts that my readers can superficially skim and those that require further thought and analysis. Could I ever say that my style brings in the variety of readers (Elementary, Inspectional, Analytical and Syntopical) and engages them on each level? No. And, Yes. I’ve discovered my storytelling abilities are validated when I see them post recognition of various elements I strive to include in my writings. “#gladitude”, for example. I see them actively using thoughts, ideas and expressions they have found within my content and displaying it for others to see on their own social media feeds.

I still strive for the engagement within the blog content itself. Comments usually flow best on the content that my readers most intimately resonate with (usually mental health, parenting or choice of perspective posts) and lack within posts that are product-oriented or factual.

It’s an interesting challenge to continually modify and adapt content within my story telling in order to best resonate with readers and followers in their own journeys through chronic disease. The key is to watch and listen how they are using the content to formulate their own perspectives and how they are choosing to share it (platforms, media, posts) to others.

Do you find your attendance to certain websites is based on your attraction to the content and, if applicable, do you visit various sites because they *are* different in content?

 

Leave a Reply

