COM0014- Personal Brand

I must admit that this was one of the most difficult blogs to write. I don’t think I actually took the time to sit and think about my personal brand or much less ask myself these types of questions. After much deliberation, this is what I came up with.

Family_1

What are some personal qualities or characteristics that set you apart from your competitors?

As a mom I am enlightened by my children. They are extreme opposites and each has taught me more than I could ever teach them. In watching them grow into adults I realize that I am resilient. We never know how strong we are until we are smack in the middle of a situation that doesn’t give us a choice.

As a wife I am devoted. I am married to a first responder. For those who know someone in this position you understand that they simply cannot leave work ‘at the office.’ They see people in horrible situations and are part of people’s worst days. I have come to understand that I sometimes need to step away and realize I can’t fix or help. Some things just take their own time.

As just an ordinary person I try my very best to see the good in people. I have understood, from a very young age that everybody has a story, so we must be kind. Balancing this view, I also understand that you can’t get along with everyone, and that’s okay. I have to admit that it is very difficult to accept that not everyone likes me, but embracing those who do certainly makes up for them.

As a worker I am focused. I have worked independently for over 23 years. I did not have any maternity leave and was back to work after three weeks. This required dedication, organization and a lot of self-discipline.

What have you done lately to make yourself stand out?

At the age of 51 I decided to go back to school to build on my communications background and study Social Media. I am also using all the communications experience I have gained over the years to begin working as a volunteer at The Royal Ottawa Mental Health Centre. I will be joining their communications department in the new year.

What would your colleagues say is your best trait?

Based on some reference letters that I have received, my colleagues say:

  • Great time management
  • Always meets deadlines
  • Quick learner
  • Self starter
  • Team player
  • Enthusiastic
  • Motivated
  • Positive
  • Attention to detail
  • Personable
  • Professional

What have you done that you are most proud of?

I am most proud of the fact that I decided to work for myself at a very young age in order to create a work/life balance. I have been consistently self-employed for over 23 years. In those 23 years I was able to be a full-time mom and wife and I was able to provide my clients with exceptional service that had them coming back again and again.

 

How would you answer these questions? Do you know what your personal brand is?

 

 

One thought on “COM0014- Personal Brand

Leave a Reply

